Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made this with chardonnay and it turned out perfect! I did follow the suggestion to mix the flour with the shredded cheese and added it in 1/4's and waited for that 1/4 to melt before adding the next. I also added some garlic salt and about 2 T of butter at the end. Wowzer, nice, cheesey fondue. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I made this for a party I threw and the flavor was edible but in no way good.I followed the recipe to a T, did not change a single thing. I will never use this recipe again and I will be removing it from my recipe box. (I did have a few friends attending the party who arrived early taste it too and they all agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly, the cheese never melted all the way, and stayed in thick lumps. Would probably have been good, but it was a big mess and didn't thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made it exactly as the recipe prescribed, and it turned out great. I love garlic, so I may try rubbing the pot with garlic first next time just to add a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Was very pleased with this fondue and it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This cheese fondue was awesome!! We absolutely loved it. We substituted garlic powder for the nutmeg. I agree with others when they say to use "good quality" cheese and wine. We used a 10 dollar bottle of wine and our cheeses together cost us 22 dollars. This is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Just came back from France. Wanted to try a fondue recipe. Delicious. Very similar. Only thing I did a little different was added a little butter to wine simmer and used a lot more wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I shredded the cheese myself so I could get a finer shred (it took about the same amount of time it took the wine to get to a simmer). I took the advice of other reviewers and added the flour to the shredded cheese and used a little lemon juice (mine was from a bottle, not fresh) to help the cheese break down and not clump. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Kennedy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This turned out well the first time I made it but the last two times, the cheese globbed up and I couldn't even get a piece of bread to penetrate the mixture. I will look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made this for lunch for fiance and me and we loved it. It came together very easily and has a great consistency. Emmentaler/Emmenthaler Swiss cheese is especially tasty in this if you can find it. I used a Chardonnay for the white wine (any Pinot Grigio or Sauvignon Blanc would probably work well too - I would stay away from "cooking wine" since it's got extra salt and chemicals, and use wine that is especially meant for drinking). A previous reviewer suggested mixing the flour in with the grated cheese before adding them to the pot and that was particularly helpful. We ate the fondue with bread, roasted potato chunks, meatballs, steamed button mushrooms and steamed broccoli. This is going to be my go-to cheese fondue recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States