Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was a great recipe... for those having clumping problems, I would suggest putting this together in a pot on the oven first. Bring the wine to a simmer and then gradually add the cheese and flour while whisking. Once everything is melted and smooth, add it to your fondue pot to keep it warm and creamy. We had it with french bread, apples, and pears and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MierGen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I love this recipe. I have been making fondue for my family for over 40 years. This is my favorite recipe. I was amazed to see it on the website. Guess it is tried and proven for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
just got a new fondue pot for my birthday - tried this recipe with some friends and we all loved it. what a hit and easy to make. WOW it was YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Awesome!! I dont own a fondu pot, so I just used a small saucepan on very low heat and poured it in a little dipper sized crock pot. This went fast and was delicious! I think next time though I will add less wine, just a little bit less ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Substituted shredded cheddar for the Gruyere & beer for the wine. Got lots of raves from the guests at our party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
pretty good I used emmenthal swiss and added some Kasseri. Really easy, i melted it in a pot and transferred it to a little crock pot. I took advice from reviews and added the flour to the grated cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurora Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This turned out so well! I was nervous it wouldn't turn out, but it was like going to the Melting Pot in your own home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Added the couple drops of lemon as suggested. This was the first time my cheese has not separated. Will be doing this recipe for a long time to come!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
We used Gruyere and White Cheddar with our favorite white wine and this recipe was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
The Swiss that taught me to make cheese fondue in the seventies used bread only for dipping. It's a dish for dedicated cheese lovers! This recipe is good, still you can leave out salt and ground nutmeg. You can also replace the all purpose flour with corn starch (cornflour, maizena). Less chance of clumping then. I learned to make it with half Emmenthaler and half Gruyere. For a milder taste, try Emmenthaler and Jarlsberg (not Swiss though). The Swiss traditionally use Kirsh (cherry brandy) in it as well, but then it gets really expensive. They also use a special ceramic cheese fondue pot, that can handle very high temperatures without burning. Remember to really turn up the heat before adding the cheese, and keep it high until serving! Then you can also do with small slices of cheese, in stead of shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States