Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Best cheese fondue I've ever made, and we've tried a few! It was incredibly easy and very smooth. Some cheese fondues I've tried in the past turned out clumpy or rubbery, but this one was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Another tip for smoothe cheese is to pre-flour the cheese before you put it in to be melted. After grating cheese, mix it with the flour. It's a tip I learned while working for a national fondue restaurant. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This recipe is well loved at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This is the best cheese fondue I have ever tasted and/or made and it is so easy! I made it for a girls night fondue party and it went faster than the chocolate fondue. I do agree with others reviews that you should use the best cheese you can find and a good bottle of sauvignon blanc (I probably was a little more liberal with the wine than the recipe suggested). A little bit of lemon juice is also a must as it really smooths out the cheeses. I made this in a saucepan and then transferred to a ceramic fondue pot - good tip if you do this, warm up your pot first so the cheese doesn't cool and you have to wait for the flame to hear it back up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I left out the nutmeg, and as some other recipes suggested added lemon juice to reduce clumping. But it was quick and easy and problem free
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was so simple and so great! The trick to getting the cheese to melt smoothly is to mix the flour in with the shredded cheese BEFORE adding it to the wine. And when adding the cheese, I added it a handful at a time and stirred constantly until the cheese was completely melted before adding more. It worked great and the cheese was perfect! I used Jarlsberg for the swiss, and the flavor blended really well with the Gruyere. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Delicious!!!! Made for my entire family and we all loved it! The only hard part was mastering the heat level to keep it at the perfect hot, but not too hot temp. We'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I have made this recipe numerous times for fondue parties (fondue is just what I love to do) and this is ALWAYS the favorite. Typically I make the recipe as is, but if I'm trying to save a little or don't have enough Gruyere I have used 3/4 Swiss to 1/4 Gruyere and it still tastes fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
absolutely delish! Try it, you'll love it. Nice and easy and can easilybe a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelli Lassiter-Vering

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
the flour should be added before melting the cheese,this way prevents the cheese of separating from the wine..adding Kirsch with the wine would be the perfect match with these 2 kinds of cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nadou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States