Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I had a block of gruyere that I needed to use so fondue was an obvious choice. Other than adding minced garlic I followed the recipe exactly. I have to guess that a fondue pot is critical. I did this on the stovetop, patiently stirring in the cheese after about the third handful, I ended up with a lump of stringy cheese in a pot of wine. I used quality cheese, and a good whine. I was very frustrated and as a last ditch effort to save the dish we cranked up the heat and stirred vigorously, which did result in a very thick, somewhat stringy, but finally melted pan of cheese. I also tried the lemon juice trick, and it did not help. I read a lot of the reviews and I can't quite figure out why this works for some and not for others! In the future I'll save myself the frustration, for what I spent on the cheese, wine, and dip items the Melting Pot is much less expensive : ) Forgot to mention, this did taste good though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
the people who say it was lumpy were either impatient or didn't do something right, use good wine and emetauler cheese (pricy but awesome), we had this with bread cubes, chopped up brocolli and cauliflower, and a nice filet mignon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I tried it with the ingredients exactly as written, and it was really good. I did make some changes to make it perfect: 1/4 tsp garlic powder and a few drops of Worcestershire sauce. Also did as someone suggested and tossed the cheese/flour together before melting. I had no problems with clumping. I used Sauvignon Blanc. Served it with french bread, a cut up apple, carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Best cheese fondue I've ever made, and we've tried a few! It was incredibly easy and very smooth. Some cheese fondues I've tried in the past turned out clumpy or rubbery, but this one was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Another tip for smoothe cheese is to pre-flour the cheese before you put it in to be melted. After grating cheese, mix it with the flour. It's a tip I learned while working for a national fondue restaurant. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This recipe is well loved at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This is the best cheese fondue I have ever tasted and/or made and it is so easy! I made it for a girls night fondue party and it went faster than the chocolate fondue. I do agree with others reviews that you should use the best cheese you can find and a good bottle of sauvignon blanc (I probably was a little more liberal with the wine than the recipe suggested). A little bit of lemon juice is also a must as it really smooths out the cheeses. I made this in a saucepan and then transferred to a ceramic fondue pot - good tip if you do this, warm up your pot first so the cheese doesn't cool and you have to wait for the flame to hear it back up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I left out the nutmeg, and as some other recipes suggested added lemon juice to reduce clumping. But it was quick and easy and problem free
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was so simple and so great! The trick to getting the cheese to melt smoothly is to mix the flour in with the shredded cheese BEFORE adding it to the wine. And when adding the cheese, I added it a handful at a time and stirred constantly until the cheese was completely melted before adding more. It worked great and the cheese was perfect! I used Jarlsberg for the swiss, and the flavor blended really well with the Gruyere. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Delicious!!!! Made for my entire family and we all loved it! The only hard part was mastering the heat level to keep it at the perfect hot, but not too hot temp. We'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 121-130 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States