Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
i've been reading all review & find out that some said this recipe is lumpy or not smooth like they expectation. Here is the solution. Just add a little bit of lemom. just a few drops dont put much. Chef in our fav. fondue rest. said the acid will help the cheese soft & smooth also bring some extra favor. I hope this help. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
534 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZAHIRU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
It's so funny that fondue has made a come back, however, in our house, it never left. I've tryed many fondue recipes, but this is my favorite. I did skip the nutmeg and I found that garlic powder gives the dish a nice flavor. We used to use day old french bread, but found that the bread is a lot crispier and lighter if warmed in the oven. Delicious, Sheila and thanks! As a P.S.; for those who found a clumping problem, we toss the cheese with the flour first instead of adding it in later. This should eliminate any clumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
363 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Easy and actually better than at my favorite fondue restaurant! I halved the recipe with some leftovers, and served two. Adjustments were 1 grated clove garlic cooked with the flour, also, dashes of worcestershire, mustard powder and salt, and slightly less nutmeg. Cheap cooking wine worked fine, but definitely go for the good cheese! Still, classy and fabulous for less than $12, including apples, sourdough & carrots (halved). Couldn't ask for a yummier fondue! Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
317 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Help! I made this and the cheese was one big lump. It never really melted. I bought expensive cheese and used a Chardony for the wine? Any hints??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walled Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Commerce Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This is one of the easiest and best fondues I've ever had! My company loved it! I have no idea why anyone had any trouble with this recipe. Can't be any easier! I made mine in a pan on the stove and transferred to my fondue bowl before serving. I didn't have any trouble adding the flour to the cheese. I just used my wisk and it was fine. Pefect in fact! I did rub the inside of my fondue bowl with garlic. Later when I rubbed my bread against the inside of the bowl, I could really taste the garlic and it was even better. Next time I'll add a little more. No trouble with it thickening either. It didn't last long enough! It seems to me the complaints I read were about the cheese. My guess is, the quality of the cheese makes a BIG difference! I spent about $15 on the cheese and it was perfect. I also used a good quality white wine. I was told you shouldn't cook with anything you wouldn't drink. I think that's good advise. If you had trouble with this recipe or didn't like it, I'd look at the ingredients you used. We used whole grain baguette bread and it was wonderful! This one's a keeper! Thanks Sheila
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
If you have problems with your cheese separating, squeeze 1/2 of a lemon into the wine before adding cheese. The lemon is NOT for taste but to help break down the cheese and keep your fondue beautiful all night long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This is an excellent recipe. I have failed with a couple of different swiss cheese fondues (which can be expensive) and this recipe has all the right ingredients for great flavor and it is easy. Bonus that from start to finish is in the fondue pot. A few hints for the beginning fondueist: dry wine works better such as sauvignon. If it seems runny add more flour, if it seems too thick and stringy add lemon juice (or check your sterno) I use a ceramic double boiler fondue pot. These can be a little expesive but they will not burn the cheese. The stainless steel pot that sits on the flame will burn the cheese. I haven't used a cast iron fondue pot but this might work too as cast iron distributes heat more evenly so the hottest part of the pot is not the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This is the first time I made fondu and it came out great. It's not the smoothest blend but then you're not using that fake, pasterurized cheese stuff. For the recipe I used Swiss, Edam and Guyere and added about a tablespoon of Red Cooking Wine. I followed suggestions from other users and tossed the cheese (shredded) in flour and added a few drops of lemon juice. I also did not use a fondu pot rather a crockpot and warmed the wine in the pot first and then added the cheese and just set it on low and let it melt on its own with occassional stirring. The aroma throughout the house was absolutely wonderful and tempting. I must add that this is NOT a reheatable dish - if you don't use it all, don't try to save it. This is an excellent, easy recipe and received rave reviews from my guests. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
This fondue is absolutely fantastic. I'm a huge fan of The Melting Pot, which is a chain of fondue restaurants. I actually prefer this recipe to the fondue sold at The Melting Pot! I'm a big garlic fan, so I add a glove of garlic with the wine. It's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
When the cheese thicken up, I added a little more wine. The biggest key is to keep the flame up high enough to not let it cool. If it does add more wine. If you like garlic, try rubbing the pot before you add the wine, VERY nice. Also Great without garlic! This far better than best fondue restaurant here! Thank you for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States