Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Sample

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Nope. Nothin 'to add, alter, change. This is fan-freakin-tanstic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I like simple recipes with good ingredients and this one is all that. I didn't use the nutmeg or garlic powder or any addition. Also, I made it with beer instead of wine which I just like better but that's up to individual taste. I cut the bread (we used a 7 grain nutty affair) into cubes and slid them under the broiler for a few minutes for crispness and better fork staying power. I suggest you cut the cheese into cubes and toss them with the flour before adding to the hot beer and stir stir stir. Add just a few at a time and did I mention to stir stir stir? It comes out creamy and deliciouseeotitites!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PegInPhilly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caldwell, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I admit that I am a very picky eater, and today is the first time I decided to try fondue. This is a good recipe, but I think I would cut back on the Gruyere next time. It's quite strong, at least for my tastes. This first try, I cut it back to about three ounces and used 3 oz of white cheddar I had left, and even then it was pretty strong. Although, I used Jarlsburg cheese instead of Swiss, so maybe that's part of it. Also, the lemon and flour advice is very helpful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Good enough to eat, but I don't plan on making it again. Not sure what exactly to put my finger on, but the flavor was not appealing to me. I was snacking on the extra cheese I had before hand and was pleased with the quality of what I bought, I've used the same wine before in other recipes, and I'm accustomed to nutmeg paired with creamy/cheesy dishes, but the combination in this recipe didn't suit me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camee'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I followed the tip to add garlic to the wine while it's simmering and tossing the cheese in the flour and it turned out perfect. It was the perfect valentines day dinner even my picky boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Perfecto! I added the flour to the cheese before adding to the wine & added 2 cloves of garlic to the wine. This was all done in the fondue pot. Best recipe I have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
The best cheese fondue we've ever had! Made it for Valentine's Day and it was a big hit. We started with a broth based fondue where we cooked beef tenderloin, chicken, lobster, broccoli, and mushrooms. We let the cheese fondue cook on low heat (2) for over 30 minutes while we enjoyed the broth fondue. With two teenage football players in the family, I cooked a total of 1 1/2 lb of cheese; 1/2 lb swiss, 1/2 lb gruyere, 1/2 lb emmentaler. With all these nutty cheeses I was afraid that the nutmeg would be too much, but at the very end it was the right decision to add it. We had cut the cheese in 1/2 inch squares instead of grating it, and the cheese was lumpy during the melting process, but I think the low heat and long cooking time helped as it turned out very nice and smooth at the end. I used sauvignon blanc as the wine. Best cheese fondue ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was my first attempt at fondue after I got a fondue pot for Xmas. It was good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by runningslp
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Added garlic instead of nutmeg. DELICIOUS! But so much food! Be ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States