Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
this is not always a smooth and creamy ,certain cheese mostly the Gruyeres sometimes do not melt fully and the fondue stays a little lumpy but in my opinion "who cares" it is still great and everyone in my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victor1800
Living In: Oxford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I worked at a Melting Pot for several years in the early 90's and this is the exact recipe we used for our traditional swiss cheese fondue. It's excellent! It's also good with a smidge of Kirschwasser (cherry brandy) too. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I'm pregnant and was craving fondue like crazy. I've had this recipe in the past, and loved it, so I thought I'd try it out. I used apple juice instead of wine and used only swiss (I didn't have gruyere), and it still hit the spot! Not exactly the same, but still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Impressive and easy. I didn't have any sterno for my fondue pot so I used a double boiler. I rubbed the pot with garlic, added the wine (Bogle chardonnay) then the grated cheese tossed with the flour...slow and steady. I also added the recommended lemon juice, about a tablespoon. No clumps, nice and smooth. Served at the table in the double boiler to keep the cheese fluid. Next time I might try adding another 1/4 cup wine to thin it out just a bit. This is the recipe to use if you have never made fondue before. Do make sure you use good quality cheese. I used Swiss Emmentaler and Gruyere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FingerLakesGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
We spent $32 on quality cheese alone and then it ended up tasting like dirty feet! We had to try to salvage it with fresh parmesan and cheddar and it still just never tasted right! Waste of money and definitely don't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Try mixing the flour with the cheese before adding it to the wine. I worked for the Melting Pot a fondue restaurant and this is an awesome starting recipe. If you dont want to use only bread, try using vegetables like carrots, celery, blanched broccoli and cauliflower. You can also use brown baguette bread. As for adding more flavor, try adding jalepenos, or add in spinach and chopped artichoke hearts. Bacon is a great addition as well. Adding fresh ground pepper gives a lot more flavor. Also, instead of using wine, use chicken boulion or a light beer. Hope you enjoy! Also check out chocolate fondue or an entree (steak, chicken, scallops, lobster tail... Its delicious!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was good but I have had better. I think I might have put too much nutmeg. I also should have used some lemon like others suggested because mine was not very smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iLoVeCoOkInG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made this with chardonnay and it turned out perfect! I did follow the suggestion to mix the flour with the shredded cheese and added it in 1/4's and waited for that 1/4 to melt before adding the next. I also added some garlic salt and about 2 T of butter at the end. Wowzer, nice, cheesey fondue. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I made this for a party I threw and the flavor was edible but in no way good.I followed the recipe to a T, did not change a single thing. I will never use this recipe again and I will be removing it from my recipe box. (I did have a few friends attending the party who arrived early taste it too and they all agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly, the cheese never melted all the way, and stayed in thick lumps. Would probably have been good, but it was a big mess and didn't thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States