Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Added the couple drops of lemon as suggested. This was the first time my cheese has not separated. Will be doing this recipe for a long time to come!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
We used Gruyere and White Cheddar with our favorite white wine and this recipe was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
The Swiss that taught me to make cheese fondue in the seventies used bread only for dipping. It's a dish for dedicated cheese lovers! This recipe is good, still you can leave out salt and ground nutmeg. You can also replace the all purpose flour with corn starch (cornflour, maizena). Less chance of clumping then. I learned to make it with half Emmenthaler and half Gruyere. For a milder taste, try Emmenthaler and Jarlsberg (not Swiss though). The Swiss traditionally use Kirsh (cherry brandy) in it as well, but then it gets really expensive. They also use a special ceramic cheese fondue pot, that can handle very high temperatures without burning. Remember to really turn up the heat before adding the cheese, and keep it high until serving! Then you can also do with small slices of cheese, in stead of shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Cheese is one huge lump. Flour clumped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
My family of five didn't care for this at all, but none of us are swiss fans either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Delicious recipe! I ended up halving it since it was just for 2, and it was just the right amount without overstuffing us. The nutmeg added a really nice sweetness that went well with the cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Excellent, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfbeaner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Very good. My 12 yr old wanted to try fondue so we had a Fondue Friday while his older sister was on a trip with school. We had to force ourselves to stop eating it was so good. I would use a dryer wine then the one I chose. Served it with a roasted garlic bread, multi grain bread, sourdough, hunter sausage, lightly steamed brocolli and sauteed shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
So rich - almost too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I didn't read the reviews until after i had already made this and served it. It tasted great so no complaints there. My fondue did start to clump but only when I started to add the flour. I did not add 2 TBL spoons only 1 when I realized it was clumping. Next time I will try lemon juice and hopefully it works out better. Other then that it tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States