Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was delicious! Had the family over for a fondue night; six adults enjoyed this as a cheese appetizer. Used green apples, bread, and an assortment of vegetables for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this tonight and it was my first time to make a cheese fondue from scratch! It was a huge success and easy! I added the cheese slowly - letting each 1/4 lb melt before adding the next. After adding the 2T flour everything blended beautifully! We loved it - I definitely will share this with all my friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We made this recipe as an appetizer for Christmas and it was a total hit. I followed the directions for preparation exactly as described in the recipe - except we added a few cloves of minced fresh garlic - and the foundue was creamy and tasted delicious. We used a good Chardonnay, high quality, imported Swiss and Gruyere cheeses and stirred the cheeses into the hot wine in quarter pound increments. We kept our electric fondue pot plugged in and after an hour, the fondue got pretty thick, so we just stirred in a bit more wine to thin it down and it was once again very creamy. We served with cubes of crusty bread, crudités and chunks of fresh pears & apples. This recipe made enough for 6 adults to nibble on all afternoon and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Blagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I have tried several recipes from AllRecipes.com over the years. Mostly they have been good. I have never felt compelled to rate a recipe until today. This is the most disgusting thing I have ever smelled in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Fondue is my favorite and this one was too swissy for me. Cut the Swiss into 1/4 of the portion! Gross! Tasted like a melted string cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbydede

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
We had to adjust the flour & cheese ratio. Though, it was Amazing! after we got the consistency just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany
Home Town: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
its great! never done fondue myself but have had it many times...wonderful tip on the lemon juice in the simmering wine! thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cari Peters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Made this last night to RAVE reviews :) The only thing we did differently was we chose a citrus-ginger sparkling wine. Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I served this at a family gathering and it was a hit with adults and kids alike! I used a Riesling instead of a dry white wine and really liked the note of sweetness from the Riesling to counteract the bolder cheeses. Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was a super easy and VERY tasty fondue recipe. I purchased a mix of shredded gruyere and Swiss from Trader Joe's. Tossed the cheese in the flour before adding to the wine and made it on the stove before putting it in my fondue pot, both recommended by other reviews and I think were perfect suggestions. The ONLY issue was the cheese was TOO thick with only one cup of wine, so I added one more cup of wine and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States