Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I like this recipe because you can change it up. My kids don't care for Swiss. This time I used sharp cheddar and Gouda. We dipped sautéed mushrooms, steamed broccoli,sausage and bread cubes. Our Valentines Day tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I decided on this recipe because it has the fewest ingredients in addition to the wine and cheese, of all the ones I looked at. At first, I was having a hard time getting the cheese and wine to combine smoothly and was afraid I had gotten the wine too hot or something. Even though the recipe says not to add the flour until the cheese and wine are smooth, I decided to add it then. As I whisked the flour in, the whole thing came together. It's delicious, even better than I remembered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Wonderful! I wanted a classic fondue & this is it! I did add a tablespoon of corn starch to each of the cheeses, as I ground them in the food processor. I added a tiny amount of lemon juice as it was cooking and used Wondra, instead of regular flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Excellent classic fondue. Don't like nutmeg, so I omitted that. If you have flour allergies, it's easy to substitute cornstarch or tapioca starch straight up for the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Delicious!! Tasted just like what we get at the Melting Pot restaurant. I bought premium cheese and wine and tossed the cheese with the flour before putting it into the fondue. I didn't have any problems with it separating. I served it with bread cubes and fresh apple cubes. I also rubbed the fondue pot with garlic before making it. Fantastic, thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is a great fondue recipe. We use it every New Years' Eve. I shred the cheese in my Cuisinart food processor and toss with flour. I use Sauvignon Blanc, which is a nice dry wine that's relatively inexpensive. Served it with sweet pea pods, grape tomatoes, french bread, baby carrots, broccoli, and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOLYVIVE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I made this for New Years Eve and it was fabulous!! Easy to make too. I used french bread, mushrooms, red and orange peppers.. and the cheese coated everything perfectly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Not anything like the Melting Pot even with the suggestions of using corn starch mixed with cheese and adding lemon juice. The flavor was alright but the texture was awful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I used Gouda instead of Gruyere and maybe thats why mine didnt turn out well but it never got to a liquidy smooth consistancy. It was a little lumpy and would harden on the bread :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This recipe was perfect! It was really easy to make a good, homogenized, creamy cheese that was absolutely delicious with our veggies, bread, and apples. Yum!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States