Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kp
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Took the advice of others and coated cheese with flour and added lemon juice to pot after simmering the wine. Used cheap white wine and still tasted great. Dippers included polish sausage, mushrooms, French bread, red apples, and asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Maybe there should be specification as to the type of wine used, or type of Swiss, because even with the lemon juice fix, something was off here. I followed the recipe to the letter and was left with what can only be described as string cheese, or cheese taffy maybe. I was able to salvage it by creating a roux of my own with whole milk and adding the cheese glob into that, and serving it in my double boiler. It was still lumpy, but saved my date night and kept me from having to toss expensive cheese. I'm giving it two stars because although I omitted the nutmeg, the flavor was good and complimented all of our dipping items well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This is the first time making fondue and it came out yummy. I have to confess that I used a cheap cooking wine that you can buy in the grocery store. I did this because I normally do not love cooking with wine as it can take over the flavor of a dish to me. The cheap cooking wine is not so intense. I did however spend a good amount on the cheese. I rubbed down the pot with a garlic clove for flavor. I also added a dash of worcester sauce and a few drops of lemon juice, also a sprinkle of mustard powder. I coated the cheese in flour as recommended. This had no clumping and was very smooth. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
The cheese fondue tasted strange. Also, nobody could eat it because it got all thick and stringy. We added all sorts of liquids to thin it out but it was no good. We turned the heat up and it burned. The cheese melted at first but then it began to thicken. Started from. Scratch with the same two cheeses in a different recipe and it worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This recipe had a good consistency - but I did mix my flour in with the shredded cheese (as mentioned by one reviewer). Otherwise, I followed the recipe pretty much to a T. What I noted, however, was that it was really "winey", a little too much for my preference. I would consider making again with less wine and something else to substitute the remaining liquid (like milk). It tasted more of wine then of cheese, to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I tried this recipe using 1/2 lb. Swiss and 1/2 lb.Edam cheese. I added a little lemon to the wine and rubbed garlic inside my fondue pot. Everyone loved it. My son said it's the best fondue I've made. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
The flavor on this was great, but we had an executional problem with the consistency. After sitting for about ten minutes, it all separated and was difficult to mix. Maybe our pot wasn't keeping it at the right temperature or something, but we haven't had the same problem with other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This turned out really well for me. Not lumpy at all! It's dangerously delicious. I serve it with bread cubes and blanched vegitables. Personally, I prefer skipping the nutmeg and adding some mustard instead but it's no fail either way. I also rub the pot generously with garlic before I add the fondue. I feel for the reviewer whose expensive cheese was wasted because it turned into a big lump. That happened to me years ago. I called my mother and learned the solution; It was too hot! If you run into this, take it off the heat and the cheese will melt into the liquid. Gentle heat is always preferred when working with cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I don't use store bought shredded cheese, shredded my own. second, I melted about a 1/4 cup of butter, and blended flour into it, cooked it on the stovetop until I got a nutty odor from it, as it blended smoother and prevented graininess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Rintamaki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
OK, so I'm a guy. That will explain everything. White wine? I used some old White Zinfandel that my wife's been sipping at (I hardly drink at all), maybe a half-pound of Swiss and a third or so each of Muenster and Provolone. We didn't have nutmeg, so we used thyme. No added salt; there's enough in the cheese. I read a few of the reviews about lumping and figured I'd help my odds with a little lemon juice. Added a dash of garlic powder just for the heck of it. My wife cut up an English cucumber and a red bell pepper and some kind of crusty (not French) bread. It certainly wasn't the recipe's fault if this turned out awful, but it didn't! My wife and I are both bloated on a fine, fine cheese fondue dinner. Folks, if I can get it right, anybody can! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States