Cheese Fondue with a Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I can't say this is "THE BEST" only because I have yet to compare it against others, but I made this the other night for my husband and some friends and we all really liked it! We served it with German bier sausage, light rye, sour dough and granny smith apples. It was a hit and SO yummy! We had a bit of trouble getting the gouda to melt completely, but it still tasted wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The taste was pretty good. The cheese combo is good. But the looks with the basalmic left something to be desired. I used too much corn starch as it thickened up way too much. Not the recipes fault. Gotta watch that! I think it might have been excellent without any cornstarch. And while the basalmic added flavor...it just didn't look right. Can't find white basalmic. Of course, making fondue once a year makes it hit or miss...miss this year...will keep this - interesting flavor, but will look for others. Cathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
From Jay - EXCELLENT - KEEP THIS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I give this five stars for the taste; However I did make several adjustments due to the directions being misleading and difficult to understand. 1)Never choose any old wine for fondue. A drier wine, which has a higher acidic content, is what you need. NEVER use Chardonay, always use something similiar to a Sauvignon Blanc. 2)When you "warm" the wine DO NOT boil it. Keep it on a low-medium temperature. 3) Always, always, always shred your cheese AND allow it to sit at room temperature. The finer shredded the cheese is, the easier it will melt. Also, add about a tablespoon of unbleached all-purpose flour to the cheese, and toss it to coat. This helps the cheese to not "clump' when melting. 4)Cornstarch, or a cornstarch "mixture", should be added BEFORE the cheese. Add the cornstarch, and stir for several minutes giving it time to break down, and thicken. Cheese should always be the LAST thing added to fondue. 5)Add the cheese in small handfulls, stir constantly and make sure all cheese is melted and smooth before adding your next handfull. Otherwise, they will begin to clump together. 6)Cheese should always be cooked on low temperatures. 7)Drops of lemon juice can also be added to help break cheese down. It also adds a nice flavor 8)Non-stick electric fondue pots are AWESOME for cheese. Though expensive, they make cheese fondue and chocolate fondue easy because you can control your heat better. 9)Invest in the higher quality cheese, it helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I modified it, using only Gruyere and Gouda (1/2 lb. ea.), and it was divine. Would like to try it next time w/all 4 cheeses. The balsamic adds a wonderful, slight tang, which I really enjoyed -- as did my picky chef husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This is a good base recipe but it needs more. I halved the recipe, used a good white wine and really followed a mixture of the process followed below and my own process. I halve the garlic, rubbed the exposed pieces on the inside of the pot, and then pressed the remaining garlic pulp and left to the side. I grated all of the cheese and tossed with cornstarch and put off to the side to come up to room temperature. Once the cheese was room temp I poured in a Savignon Blanc and heated on very low flame till bubbles just started to appear on the bottom and sides of the pot, stirring the entire time. I added the garlic, balsamic vinegar, nutmeg, a squeeze of fresh lemon juice and a bit of pepper. I let the everything come up to temperature then slowly added the cheese by the handful, melting after each addition until all the cheese was melted and incorporated. For dipping we used a good crusty bread, dried sausage, pepperoni, green apple and prosciutto. In the future I would probably add a jigger of good Kirsch to give it a little kick. I might also consider adding a bit of salt and increase the amount of balsamic as even with just the bread the flavor of the fondue was a bit muted. Good overall just needs a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmanteria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
this was delicious. this was my first attempt at fondue. i had to keep stirring it while we ate because it kept separating. i thought it was very good nevertheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
wonderful! I love cheese, and when I first tried swiss fondue I found a new (expensive) favorite. I'm pretty simple when it comes to the fondue: Use a medium size pot, start to heat it up on medium. rub garlic around the inside of the pot. pour in a thin layer of cooking wine. when you see the tiny "carbonation" bubbles forming around the edges, slowly sprinkle in 1/2 lb shredded Gruyere cheese and 1/2 lb shredded swiss, mixing as you go so it melts evenly and smoothly. I add just a small pinch of cornstarch to thicken it, but not much. After the cheese is completely melted and slightly bubbling, I add cracked pepper and paprika for bite. Stir it up and pour it into the fondue pot that is already heated up (low setting). Yum yum! too bad around here 1/2 lb of Greyer is 8 bucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
it was not to my liking. i like to think i have a good taste for Chesse fondue and i would stay away from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DR. Dong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious and easy! I have made it twice now and only made one change the second time which was to add the cornstarch and spices before the cheese - the cheese went in last. This definitely made it less clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States