Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
This recipe was great although I did leave out the brandy. My husband and I loved it with the bread. We also used carrot sticks, celery sticks, and apple slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
This was SO easy to make. It was the first time I ever tried making fondue and it was great. The recipe has "Brandy" in the ingredients, and then "Kirsch" in the instructions so I wasn't sure which to use. I went with regular old Brandy and it was delicious. I wanted to try and counter all the fat from the cheese with some vegetables so along with dipping bread, I steamed some brussel sprouts and dipped those in as well. YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Very delicious, however, I did leave out the nutmeg and the brandy. Thanks Marc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This is a really fool-proof fondue recipe! I used a bit of Gueyere cheese. Many raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Followed recipe to the letter. Did not work well, cheese would have melted better if grated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Great basic fondue recipe. I agree with the previous review suggesting grating the cheese - this greatly cuts down on melting time. Dredging the cheese in flour ensures a smooth consistency - don't skip this step! (I used white flour with good results.) The recipe got many compliments when I served it at a party; I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Just what I was looking for. I left out the kirch. The kids love it and think it is great fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Good recipe. I halved the wine, since I don't like wine. Still had a very strong taste of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I made this last night for my husband and me -- turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Good fondue base however, a great fondue should ALWAYS have a minimum of 2 different cheeses. Lower the portion of swiss cheese and compensate with gruyere or emmental (my favorite), or any kind of firm cheese that suits your taste. Also, in addition to bread you can use crispy veggies or cold meats, like ham cubes. A good quality blond beer can also be used instead of the wine if you are a beer enthousiast. If you have never tried fondue before, stick to the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuebecGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States