Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is a decent recipe. I agree with others when they say use two different types of cheese. I also add 2-3 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice and substitute corn starch for potato flour. (I dissolve the starch in the lemon juice; it's the key to smooth fondue.) I also agree with other reviewers that shredded cheese is the way to go. Make your life easier, use shredded cheese! I promise it's worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is the real fondue, which I have been making for over 30 years. Shredded Swiss makes it easier to blend into the hot wine, the flour helps to thicken, and by all means rub the pot with a garlic clove first. The nutmeg and Kirsch are the finishing touches. Glad to see this clear basic recipe here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Good basic fondue recipe. I skipped the Kirsch and the nutmeg just because I was going for a quick lunch and didn't want to bother taking the time. Used Comte cheese (French Gruyere) and it was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This foudue was good but not great. I did not use the brandy and the foudue was very thick so I added some milk to loosen it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Good fondue base however, a great fondue should ALWAYS have a minimum of 2 different cheeses. Lower the portion of swiss cheese and compensate with gruyere or emmental (my favorite), or any kind of firm cheese that suits your taste. Also, in addition to bread you can use crispy veggies or cold meats, like ham cubes. A good quality blond beer can also be used instead of the wine if you are a beer enthousiast. If you have never tried fondue before, stick to the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Babin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I made this last night for my husband and me -- turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Good recipe. I halved the wine, since I don't like wine. Still had a very strong taste of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Just what I was looking for. I left out the kirch. The kids love it and think it is great fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Great basic fondue recipe. I agree with the previous review suggesting grating the cheese - this greatly cuts down on melting time. Dredging the cheese in flour ensures a smooth consistency - don't skip this step! (I used white flour with good results.) The recipe got many compliments when I served it at a party; I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Followed recipe to the letter. Did not work well, cheese would have melted better if grated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States