Cheese Filled Triangles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
The flavors all combine together exquisitely. With the simplicity of the recipe, I was worried it might be bland, but it turned out great! I had a hard time figuring out how to fold them into triangles. It didn't matter how it tried to do it though, it always came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Delicous and easy, but time consuming. Made the following changes - reduced salt to 1/2 teaspoon, added 2 tablespoons of grated parmesan and 1 teaspoon of lemon juice, did not pre-cook cheeses and egg - instead added to cooled spinach and onion mixture. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- For the reviewer looking for suggestions on shaping triangles: I used 3 sheets of phyllo per turnover, brushing with butter between each layer. Cut layered sheets lengthwise with a pizza cutter into long strips. Put spinach filling at lower end of strip and fold bottom corner up over filling to side edge (at a 45 degree angle), forming a triangle - then fold triangle over to opposite edge (like folding a flag) and continue this back and forth motion. At the end seal edges with extra melted butter. Keep extra phyllo sheets covered with plastic wrap to prevent them from drying out while you work. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
These were really good. I followed the recipie except used fresh spinach instead of frozen. I addes the spinach after the onions finished cooking and cooked until it wilted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
These were very tasty, but I just couldn't get them to look pretty. I'm not great with pastry, I guess. I would recommend practicing with the phyllo dough to get the hang of it but even if you can't quite get them to look right, they will taste just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Was just ok, made it at home, and then took to my mom's house. It needed to be warmed up, and it was just ok. I'm sure it would have been better if it was eaten right away
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I got rave reviews from this one! I've made them a few times and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Huntingtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
A *wonderful* appetizer. My husband's family grew up on casseroles, meat and potatoes...and nothing but. I served these as an appetizer at an adults-only dinner party, and they were fighting over the last one. It wasn't until afterwards that I told them there was feta in them:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Double-Oven Lovin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Delicious. The crispy, buttery pastry is so good! I like to add a little roasted red bell pepper to the filling. The cottage cheese helps mellow the flavor of the feta, which I am usually not very fond of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
These were phenomenal! I just added a garlic clove or two to the mixture. I wish I either doubled the recipe or made them smaller so that I had more to go around. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMAREK50

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
My husband loves the Spinich Puffs from Dino's Gyros, so I thought I'd try my hand at making them. These were wonderful. I'm really puzzled by the people that said they were too bland. They tasted wonderful to us. We ate the whole batch between the two of us (4 left) with a Greek salad and homemade chicken gyros. If you like spinich puffs from Greek restaurants you will not be dissappointed by these. I was not successful in making triangles. Some directions on how to achieve that would be great. Mine were more like little hexagons, but they tasted great. I pretty much ended up cutting each sheet of phyllo in half with a pizza cutter. Then I spread each half with butter, put on a spoonful of filling and just kept rolling. The dough kept getting holes in it and falling apart, put they still tasted good. I will definitely make these again and I'm sure those last 4 will be gone before the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States