Cheese Filled Triangles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Delicous and easy, but time consuming. Made the following changes - reduced salt to 1/2 teaspoon, added 2 tablespoons of grated parmesan and 1 teaspoon of lemon juice, did not pre-cook cheeses and egg - instead added to cooled spinach and onion mixture. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- For the reviewer looking for suggestions on shaping triangles: I used 3 sheets of phyllo per turnover, brushing with butter between each layer. Cut layered sheets lengthwise with a pizza cutter into long strips. Put spinach filling at lower end of strip and fold bottom corner up over filling to side edge (at a 45 degree angle), forming a triangle - then fold triangle over to opposite edge (like folding a flag) and continue this back and forth motion. At the end seal edges with extra melted butter. Keep extra phyllo sheets covered with plastic wrap to prevent them from drying out while you work. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This recipe took some time, but was fun to make. I had never used Phyllo dough and a friend gave me some good pointers. Keep the dough covered with plastic wrap then a wet towel to keep it from drying out. Only take out what you need. I used two sheets of dough instead of one, I also cut the dough (width wise) into ~2 1/2 inch strips which made the triangles smaller. This was a better "finger food" size for the party I made them for. Also, doing it this way made enough to stick in the freezer for another occasion. I think I made ~100 triangles. I will make this recipe again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
These were really good but I altered the recipe a bit. I added a clove of garlic, substituted ricotta for the cottage cheese and added 1/4 C of Parmesan. To cut the phyllo I used a pizza wheel and it worked much better than a knife, which usually tears the dough. I find spraying the phyllo with Pam is easier and faster than brushing with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This is an easy and delicious recipe! I found the blend of the spinach and other filling ingredients to be perfect, and the phyllo dough was no trouble to work with, as long as I kept a damp towel over the unusued pieces. This recipe makes an ample amount, which I enjoyed, because I served some and was able to freeze some for another time. Thank you for the recipe, Kathleen! It's a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This was the first time I used phyllo dough, what an experience. I changed some things from this recipe. First of all, after I created the filling I added about 50 small cooked chopped shrimp. I also cut the phyllo dough into 3 equally sized long strips and used a tablespoonful of filling. In addition, I used two layers of phyllo dough, buttering each layer. I made these a couple days beforehand and froze them. I baked at 400F for about 18 minutes. The only thing I would do differently next time I make these is to add only 1/2 tsp of salt....otherwise this is a very very IMPRESSIVE appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
These tasted great but definitely were time consuming. I made them for a baby shower and wish I had brought more, as they were gone immediatley. I ended up spraying the triangles with butter flavored Pam, as it was much faster and didn't change the outcome at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
These are terrific for both fancy and casual events. They're a bit time-consuming to make, but well worth it. I've made these several times, and they disappear QUICKLY, so put some aside before you put them out for guests! My sister likes to add golden raisins to the filling when she makes them, and the last time I made them I had a bit of leftover ham, which I chopped and added. The recipe is great just as it is, though - thanks, Kathleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
This recipe is a great appetizer! It can be used for formal dinner parties or everyday dinners. I was very pleased with it even my first time making it. To lower the fat content I bought Athenos reduced fat fetta cheese available at Safeway and Knudsen reduced fat cottage cheese. Even with using the lowfat ingrediants it tasted excellent! It was delicious and it was a huge hit with everyone I've made it for! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
It took me a little longer to do this than the stated prep time. These were really good and I will definately make them again for a special occasion. I only used 1/2 of the dough even though I was using a measuring spoon to scoop the filling. Next time I will only defrost that amount so I don't have to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
These were even better than I thought they would be. Made a bunch for Christmas and froze them. The hard part is trying not to eat them all before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States