Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I rated this 5 stars with these changes. (some at other's suggestions): - add 1 can diced green chiles - add 1/2 packet of taco seasoning (may eliminate creole seasoning) - add 1 4oz can tomato sauce to coat bottom of dish. I used a 10oz package of tortillas and one 8oz cheese (Kraft-Mexican Cheddar) was plenty. I mixed the cheese, olives, mushrooms and chiles in a bowl (didn't use onion), dipped each tortilla in sauce filled each tortilla with cheese mixture, then spread remaining sauce on top and sprinkled the leftover cheese mixture on top of that. I made it with the Best Spanish Rice recipe by Angie. (wich is the only one I use)Absolutely delicious! Will add to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I omitted the mushrooms and used canned enchilada sauce instead of the tomato sauce mixture. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Yummy! Followed others' suggestions: taco seasoning, fresh sauteed mushrooms, and well over double the cheese called for. It just takes a minute to grate the cheese, and blocks of cheese are typically much better quality than bags of shredded (often cheaper as well!). When I tried to dip the tortillas they really broke up a lot, so I slathered the sauce on the inside, added the filling, rolled it up, and then poured the remaining sauce over the enchiladas, making sure not to leave any naked tortilla. This was a lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
Finally! This is the third Enchilada recipe I've tried from this site and the only one that EVERYONE loved! I couldn't find the creole seasonings at my grocery store, so as another reviewer suggested, I used a pack of taco seasonings. It turned out very good. Also, I sauted fresh mushrooms myself, and I sauted the onion because I hate raw onion. Next time I'll try adding beef or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I took the advice of others, and modified this, which is why its 5 stars. I absolutely love this recipe! I used 1/2 packet taco seasoning rather than creole. I also omitted the mushrooms & olives, and replaced with 4oz diced green chiles (drained). I sauteed the onions, and mixed the cheese, onions, and chiles in a bowl before filling. Also, definitely put a thin layer of the sauce in the bottom of the dish, and pour the rest over the top. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
super delicious recipe! My husband and I really loved these enchiladas. We made a few adjustments to the original recipe, like using canned red enchilada sauce vs. making our own and using flour tortillas vs. corn (personal preference). It was wonderful! The mushrooms, particularly, were delectable in this dish. This recipe seems very easy to modify to your personal tastes (adding different vegetables and cheeses), and it's perfect for vegetarian Mexican fare. Thanks so much for sharing. We're adding this to our permanent recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
This is a nice, easy recipe and cheap to make! I omitted the olives and mushrooms in hopes of trying to make a more traditional enchilada. I used low-fat cheddar cheese which worked out great! I used taco seasoning as other reviewers did, and it worked fine. After baking it isn't very "saucy" and some enchiladas even stuck to the pan. For next time I will either spray the pan or put a layer of sauce down. These will become a regular at my house - my husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This recipe is easy and quick. I reccomend using taco seasoning with a little hot sauce mixed into the tomato paste and sauce mixture. Make sure that you throughly coat each tortilla with the sauce and maybe even pour a little over the top before you add the cheese. I also cooked it for less time. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake Village, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I liked this recipe but added a few changes. I use canned enchilada sauce but thicken it by by stirring equal parts flour and butter (usually a Tablespoon each per can of sauce)over medium heat until flour is golden brown.. Add enchilada sauce and continue to stir over medium heat until thickened. My family prefers flour tortillas. This recipe freezes well and can be popped in the oven straight from the freezer. tTo cook frozen enchiladas over with foil and increase baking time to 45-60 minutes. Remove foil during last 10 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
This recipe was EXCELLENT! I didn't use olives or mushrooms, because I don't like them. I also used 16 oz of cheese. I'm a cheese lover. I will definately cook this cheese enchilada recipe on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States