Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was a great recipe with a few modifications recommended in the reviews. I replaced the tomato paste and tomato sauce with a can of enchilada sauce, substituted 1/2 packet of taco seasoning for the Creole seasoning, and doubled the cheese. To prevent the tortillas from sticking to the pan, I poured a thin layer of enchilada sauce on the bottom. Also added a can of diced green chiles and sauteed the onions before adding to the filling. Soaking the corn tortillas in the enchilada sauce before rolling them is KEY. I also added sliced green onions on top for color. This is a great base recipe -- add anything you like! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vin-rouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Tasty and easy basic enchiladas. I especially like olives. I didn't have mushrooms so I just sauteed onion and then added sliced olives and shredded cheddar. Also, since I was missing some ingredients, I used canned enchilada sauce, which was just ok. I will try making the sauce next time. I also added lots of mixed low fat Mexican cheese on top of the whole thing which was a nice touch. Just watch out to not overdo the cheese on top or you lose the enchiladas in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this recipe as posted and frankly, it just isn’t quite right. Technically, it’s an enchilada, but that’s as far as it goes. I think what this recipe is, is someone who wanted enchiladas for dinner, didn’t have the necessary sauce and spices on hand and improvised with what she/he had on hand. Nothing wrong with that, it shows creativity in the kitchen and that’s always a good thing. But if you’re going to make enchiladas, you need to use red chili sauce; it’s just too essential to the dish. Regardless, I will give the recipe 3 stars for creativity alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I love cheese and onion enchiladas. These were good, I used canned enchilada sauce though and left out the musrooms and black olive (didn't have any). Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I took the advice of others, and modified this, which is why its 5 stars. I absolutely love this recipe! I used 1/2 packet taco seasoning rather than creole. I also omitted the mushrooms & olives, and replaced with 4oz diced green chiles (drained). I sauteed the onions, and mixed the cheese, onions, and chiles in a bowl before filling. Also, definitely put a thin layer of the sauce in the bottom of the dish, and pour the rest over the top. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
messy, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I liked how easy and quick they were, but one onion was way too much, in my opinion. I'm sure if I'd sauteed them first as some reviewers did, it would have been better. Otherwise, so much raw onion just overpowered the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I used enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce but still added taco seasoning. I put sauce in the bottom of the pan and a little on top. I ended up using double the sauce and double the cheese. I shredded fresh tillamock, my favrite brand, cheddar and jack cheese. I used cheese fresh chopped onion, jalapenos, bell peppers, and olives. You can throw whatever veggies you prefer into them and they turn out great! Dipping the tortillas is difficult so I mostly spooned the sauce on the tortilla and used my hands cause they do break apart easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
First time making enchiladas and this was a good starter recipe. I sauteed mushrooms, red/green peppers in some taco seasoning as the filling, no olives per preference. Followed the suggestion to add taco seasoning in spaghetti sauce. Got raves from the family, delicious with some changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
itz okayish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States