Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I have made several cheese enchilada recipes from this site but none were as big a hit as this recipe. However, I did change up the recipe some, I used enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce, taco seasoning instead of creole and I added chili powder. My boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Korki Havens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
They were so good and easy to make. Whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Watters Cavender

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Amazing Mexican food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This recipe is great! However, I omitted the mushrooms, halved the onions, and used a copious amount of mexican melting cheese on the inside! It gave me the authentic mexican enchiladas I have been searching for for years!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
These enchiladas are good but would be better with meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 11bllanco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This is a very bland recipe. I added a few spices and it still just tasted like tomato sauce. Do not recommend this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Destin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These are exactly what they promise--cheese enchiladas. My husband and I both prefer them without onions, so i just used a sprinkle of onion powder over the cheese. I also used a premade enchilada sauce (i needed to get rid of) instead of the sauce, paste, and seasoning. I will agree that the cheese needs to be doubled considering these are plain cheese enchiladas! My first couple of enchiladas didn't work out, but i figured out a great method: place 2 tortillas between a pretty damped paper towel and microwave for 25-30 seconds on high. Put a T of sauce in the shell, fill with cheese and spices, then quickly roll up. (I tried to do 4 at a time, but they started cracking towards the end, so 2 is the magic number.) Once they're all filled, cover the enchiladas with sauce. I needed about 8-10 shells for half of the recipe in a lightly greased 8x8 pan with a layer of sauce in the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was a great recipe with a few modifications recommended in the reviews. I replaced the tomato paste and tomato sauce with a can of enchilada sauce, substituted 1/2 packet of taco seasoning for the Creole seasoning, and doubled the cheese. To prevent the tortillas from sticking to the pan, I poured a thin layer of enchilada sauce on the bottom. Also added a can of diced green chiles and sauteed the onions before adding to the filling. Soaking the corn tortillas in the enchilada sauce before rolling them is KEY. I also added sliced green onions on top for color. This is a great base recipe -- add anything you like! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vin-rouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Tasty and easy basic enchiladas. I especially like olives. I didn't have mushrooms so I just sauteed onion and then added sliced olives and shredded cheddar. Also, since I was missing some ingredients, I used canned enchilada sauce, which was just ok. I will try making the sauce next time. I also added lots of mixed low fat Mexican cheese on top of the whole thing which was a nice touch. Just watch out to not overdo the cheese on top or you lose the enchiladas in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States