Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
super delicious recipe! My husband and I really loved these enchiladas. We made a few adjustments to the original recipe, like using canned red enchilada sauce vs. making our own and using flour tortillas vs. corn (personal preference). It was wonderful! The mushrooms, particularly, were delectable in this dish. This recipe seems very easy to modify to your personal tastes (adding different vegetables and cheeses), and it's perfect for vegetarian Mexican fare. Thanks so much for sharing. We're adding this to our permanent recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Sorry to be a spoil sport, but I just did NOT care for these at all. They were too tomato pasty :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I rated this 5 stars with these changes. (some at other's suggestions): - add 1 can diced green chiles - add 1/2 packet of taco seasoning (may eliminate creole seasoning) - add 1 4oz can tomato sauce to coat bottom of dish. I used a 10oz package of tortillas and one 8oz cheese (Kraft-Mexican Cheddar) was plenty. I mixed the cheese, olives, mushrooms and chiles in a bowl (didn't use onion), dipped each tortilla in sauce filled each tortilla with cheese mixture, then spread remaining sauce on top and sprinkled the leftover cheese mixture on top of that. I made it with the Best Spanish Rice recipe by Angie. (wich is the only one I use)Absolutely delicious! Will add to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This wasn't very good at all. Perhaps a different sauce would have helped - way to bland and tasteless. I will not be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
My husband stated that if I had cooked this for him when we first met I would still be single. We tried to get my Kids to eat just 2 more bites (after the first) and they cried. Way too tart, not enough cheese, ended up dry, and just all in all was very displeasing! No offense intended to the author but this is certainly not something that everyone is going to be happy with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
These were okay, but we probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
It was OK at best. Maybe my personal preferences, but I thought the sauce was too pasty, and I didn't care for the raw onions. Mushrooms were a nice touch though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
I modified this recipe a little bit to accommodate ingredients I had on hand. I thought the end result would suffer, but it was fantastic! I had no creole seasoning, so I added fresh garlic and basil to the sauce. I added spinach to the cheese filling. They were so delicious. I will be making these many times more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I loved the fact that with this recipe I didn't have to use canned enchilada sauce. I also used taco seasoning and fresh, sauteed mushrooms. Next time, I may also add some carrots and spinach. It's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Yummy! Followed others' suggestions: taco seasoning, fresh sauteed mushrooms, and well over double the cheese called for. It just takes a minute to grate the cheese, and blocks of cheese are typically much better quality than bags of shredded (often cheaper as well!). When I tried to dip the tortillas they really broke up a lot, so I slathered the sauce on the inside, added the filling, rolled it up, and then poured the remaining sauce over the enchiladas, making sure not to leave any naked tortilla. This was a lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States