Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I omitted the mushrooms and used canned enchilada sauce instead of the tomato sauce mixture. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I made this exactly as written and it was just okay. If you are going to make it than I highly recommend cooking the onions and using (and cooking) fresh mushrooms. If you like them extra cheesy you should add extra cheese as well. I was okay with the amount of cheese to save on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Pretty good recipe. I love beef and chicken enchiladas but I was serving taco salad with beef so I decided to try vegetarian enchiladas. I was really skeptical. I don't like mushrooms, olives or corn tortillas but these were pretty good. I did use a package of taco seasoning in the tomato sauce...I don't know where to find Creole seasoning? And I covered the tortillas with the extra sauce since a few reviewers said the enchiladas were too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
We adapted this recipe using some of the suggestions here and some of my own. My enchiladas always fall apart, so we made it cassarole style. We used canned sauce and preshredded cheese (mexican 4 cheese). Coat the dish with vegetable spray and just cover the bottom with sauce. Dip corn tortillas in hot oil for a few seconds to firm them up. Tear them to fit the pan and then layer in the cheese and mushroom. On top of the second layer of tortilla top with cheese, the rest of the sauce, olives and chopped green onion. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This is OK, but not great. I made it exactly like the recipe says. Next time I will add garlic and simmer the tomato sauce and paste together with garlic. The cheese should be doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I used canned red enchilada sauce and added sloppy joe mix (I didn't have taco seasonings). I used 3 carrots, which gave a sweetness, and olives too. I only had 1 lb of cheese (mixed cheddar with monterey). I would have used 1.5-2 lb if I had it. I cooked the tortillas (corn) on the stove first, gave crunch. It was great. Will make again. My boyfriend loved it, he hates a lot of dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
super delicious recipe! My husband and I really loved these enchiladas. We made a few adjustments to the original recipe, like using canned red enchilada sauce vs. making our own and using flour tortillas vs. corn (personal preference). It was wonderful! The mushrooms, particularly, were delectable in this dish. This recipe seems very easy to modify to your personal tastes (adding different vegetables and cheeses), and it's perfect for vegetarian Mexican fare. Thanks so much for sharing. We're adding this to our permanent recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Sorry to be a spoil sport, but I just did NOT care for these at all. They were too tomato pasty :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I rated this 5 stars with these changes. (some at other's suggestions): - add 1 can diced green chiles - add 1/2 packet of taco seasoning (may eliminate creole seasoning) - add 1 4oz can tomato sauce to coat bottom of dish. I used a 10oz package of tortillas and one 8oz cheese (Kraft-Mexican Cheddar) was plenty. I mixed the cheese, olives, mushrooms and chiles in a bowl (didn't use onion), dipped each tortilla in sauce filled each tortilla with cheese mixture, then spread remaining sauce on top and sprinkled the leftover cheese mixture on top of that. I made it with the Best Spanish Rice recipe by Angie. (wich is the only one I use)Absolutely delicious! Will add to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This wasn't very good at all. Perhaps a different sauce would have helped - way to bland and tasteless. I will not be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States