Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Maybe in Louisana ?? they make these, but in New Mexico you would not use tomato sauce or paste for enchiladas. You use red chile sauce. I would have to give this a one star as it doesn't compare with a "real" enchilada and I think this one should be renamed. Sorry, but, I didn't care for it at all and would not make it again. I noticed that a lot of the other reviewers DID use red enchilada sauce when they made this, as would a true Southwesterner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA1940

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
dunno about this one...very bland and I even added the onions..cooked them a little before I put them in with the cheese...the corn tort.were VERY bland...might be better with a flour tort.....used taco seasoning instead of the creo.oh well maybe another time I will try again...=(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamela c

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
We modified it quite a bit based just on what I had on hand, but this was the base! I used 4 cheese spaghetti sauce, flour tortillas, and cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Simply great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadsacookin'

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
pretty dang good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kowgirl_2012

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I thought these were okay, but not outstanding. The sauce seemed too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
These enchiladas are very easy to make, and I changed a few things based on the preferences of my family... I used shredded colby-jack cheese, and a whole lot more than what the recipe calls for. I also omitted the onions and mushrooms (although I would love them, my kids can't eat them) and added in frozen corn. I also had a lot of leftover taco meat from a previous meal, so I made a pan of beef enchiladas as well as a pan of cheese enchiladas. Also, I did find that it was too messy to "dip" the tortillas, so I just slathered the inside with the sauce mixture and poured the rest on top. This is one of my kids' favorite meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I liked this recipe but added a few changes. I use canned enchilada sauce but thicken it by by stirring equal parts flour and butter (usually a Tablespoon each per can of sauce)over medium heat until flour is golden brown.. Add enchilada sauce and continue to stir over medium heat until thickened. My family prefers flour tortillas. This recipe freezes well and can be popped in the oven straight from the freezer. tTo cook frozen enchiladas over with foil and increase baking time to 45-60 minutes. Remove foil during last 10 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was very delicious. I did change it up a bit. I used red enchilada sauce instead of the mixture in the recipe. I also used a combination of monterrey jack with jalepenos, mild cheddar and taco seasoning cheese. I doubled the amount of cheese called for in the recipe. I didn't have any mushrooms so I omitted those. Whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I took out the mushrooms and olives and put mexican rice inside instead. They were divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystaldanae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States