Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this recipe as posted and frankly, it just isn’t quite right. Technically, it’s an enchilada, but that’s as far as it goes. I think what this recipe is, is someone who wanted enchiladas for dinner, didn’t have the necessary sauce and spices on hand and improvised with what she/he had on hand. Nothing wrong with that, it shows creativity in the kitchen and that’s always a good thing. But if you’re going to make enchiladas, you need to use red chili sauce; it’s just too essential to the dish. Regardless, I will give the recipe 3 stars for creativity alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I love cheese and onion enchiladas. These were good, I used canned enchilada sauce though and left out the musrooms and black olive (didn't have any). Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I took the advice of others, and modified this, which is why its 5 stars. I absolutely love this recipe! I used 1/2 packet taco seasoning rather than creole. I also omitted the mushrooms & olives, and replaced with 4oz diced green chiles (drained). I sauteed the onions, and mixed the cheese, onions, and chiles in a bowl before filling. Also, definitely put a thin layer of the sauce in the bottom of the dish, and pour the rest over the top. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
messy, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I liked how easy and quick they were, but one onion was way too much, in my opinion. I'm sure if I'd sauteed them first as some reviewers did, it would have been better. Otherwise, so much raw onion just overpowered the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I used enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce but still added taco seasoning. I put sauce in the bottom of the pan and a little on top. I ended up using double the sauce and double the cheese. I shredded fresh tillamock, my favrite brand, cheddar and jack cheese. I used cheese fresh chopped onion, jalapenos, bell peppers, and olives. You can throw whatever veggies you prefer into them and they turn out great! Dipping the tortillas is difficult so I mostly spooned the sauce on the tortilla and used my hands cause they do break apart easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
First time making enchiladas and this was a good starter recipe. I sauteed mushrooms, red/green peppers in some taco seasoning as the filling, no olives per preference. Followed the suggestion to add taco seasoning in spaghetti sauce. Got raves from the family, delicious with some changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
itz okayish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Maybe in Louisana ?? they make these, but in New Mexico you would not use tomato sauce or paste for enchiladas. You use red chile sauce. I would have to give this a one star as it doesn't compare with a "real" enchilada and I think this one should be renamed. Sorry, but, I didn't care for it at all and would not make it again. I noticed that a lot of the other reviewers DID use red enchilada sauce when they made this, as would a true Southwesterner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA1940

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
dunno about this one...very bland and I even added the onions..cooked them a little before I put them in with the cheese...the corn tort.were VERY bland...might be better with a flour tort.....used taco seasoning instead of the creo.oh well maybe another time I will try again...=(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamela c

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States