Cheese Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I've been going through a lot of biscuit recipies lately, looking for the right one. This definitely did the trick! I had to half the recipie due to an ingredient being nearly out, and I did not include garlic, and used green onions instead of chives. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
generally I really like this but did make a couple changes: salt plus garlic salt is too much salt/not enough garlic for me...so changed the garlic salt to just plain garlic powder. I also doubled the cheddar. No shortening on hand/used butter. I used buttermilk instead of milk just becauase I had it on hand in the 'fridge and I personally like buttermilk biscuits. I gave a 5 for me as above/a 4 star rating with needing to add a lot of stuff for more robust flavor. Someone who likes a milder flavor will probably like it "as written".I like stuff bursting with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I used almost a whole cup of grated swiss cheese instead of the cheddar...yummie!!!!! didn't use any chives 'cos I had none and instead of garlic salt,used celery salt....oh,instead of shortening ,used real butter....delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pauline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
OMG! These are awesome...I have made them for a topping to chicken pot pie and stayed closer to the recipe except using self rising flour, veg oil and garlic salt. No chives. I also have made them in the morning to use for my breakfast sausage gravy. Both have been YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahlastein0418

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
YUMMY! I made a few changes due to lack of ingredients...No chives, I used Dried minced garlic in place of garlic salt, half butter and half shortening. They were so good. Will make again. Soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
These were pretty good. I used all ingredients but the chives. I added 1 cup milk instead of the 3/4 cup. I wish I would of added more garlic and cheese. This was good with out rice, ham and cheese bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Really good flavourful biscuits. I increase the butter slightly and used 1 cup of milk instead of 3/4 cup. Sometimes I also add a few shakes of parmesan or some bacon bits. When I don't feel like cooking dinner, I open a can of soup and quickly whip up these. Dear hubby gushes more than if I'd spent all day preparing a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Too stiff for drop biscuits. I added 2 T. more milk. Next time I'll double the cheese, too, and double the garlic salt but omit the regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Delicious! I've made a similar recipe using baking mix and was specifically looking for a recipe made from scratch. I did use butter instead of shortening, a full tsp. of garlic powder, more cheese and maybe a tablespoon more milk. Brushed with butter when done and my family devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Bland. It does make nice fluffy biscuits but nothing like Red Lobster's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States