Cheese Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
There is a golden rule when making biscuits. " the wetter the dough the better the biscuit" This recipe i found to need an extra 1/4 cup or milk to qualify as a dry biscuit when cooked. I fallowed the recipe exactly. After making 2 biscuits as a test I found the recipe was so flawed I added more milk and some more spices such as taragon chopped onion and pepper. i also added a small handful of extra cheese. Only then did the recipe taste decent. This recipe is nothing more then flawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Absolutely dry and bland, I would probably add more milk and quite a bit more of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
They are very tasty my whole family loves them. I've made them several times I sometimes add things like fresh diced onion, bell pepper, garlic an parmasion And sometimes I don't change a thing. They are always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Pretty good and easy to make! I added more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
A good basic recipe that's made fantastic by making a few changes. I used a full tablespoon of dried chives, & a teaspoon of garlic powder instead of salt. I also used vegetable oil instead of shortening, & a full cup tex-mex shredded cheese in the place of cheddar. And they turned out wonderfully. A lot of people have suggested adding parmesan as well & I've made these using a pre-shredded 4 cheese blend of italian cheeses from the deli section of my grocery store with equally delicious results. Will be coming back to this one again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastern Passage, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Very good! My son made these to go with dinner and they came out perfectly. We did use garlic powder instead of garlic salt and about a cup of shredded cheese. Baked them in muffin cups. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
These were very simple to make and taste just like the biscuits from "Red Lobster." I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lippyTiffy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is a dry biscuit, but very yummy. The only thing that would make them better is drizzling melted butter over them with garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I've been going through a lot of biscuit recipies lately, looking for the right one. This definitely did the trick! I had to half the recipie due to an ingredient being nearly out, and I did not include garlic, and used green onions instead of chives. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
generally I really like this but did make a couple changes: salt plus garlic salt is too much salt/not enough garlic for me...so changed the garlic salt to just plain garlic powder. I also doubled the cheddar. No shortening on hand/used butter. I used buttermilk instead of milk just becauase I had it on hand in the 'fridge and I personally like buttermilk biscuits. I gave a 5 for me as above/a 4 star rating with needing to add a lot of stuff for more robust flavor. Someone who likes a milder flavor will probably like it "as written".I like stuff bursting with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States