Cheese Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I made these biscuits exactly as written however they were a little bland. After reading previous comments though I will try this again with the added falvor suggestions!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
these were delicious, I have been trying to match Red Lobster and these seem to come the closest to it, loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I rarely follow a recipe exactly and we eat a lot of organic and whole foods so I made this recipe with whole wheat pastry flour and butter. I wanted a little more herbs so added 1/2 tsp of an Italian Mix. I used 1% milk and had to add another 1/4 cup on top of the 3/4. Had no sharp cheddar so used a little of parm and a monterey jack and mild cheddar mix. Probably a little over 1/2 cup of cheese total. I made big biscuits so got 10 out of the batch and baked them for 11 ish minutes on a baking stone. They turned out great. This is an awesome base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These biscuits are almost a staple in my house. I always substitute butter or margarine for shortening. Sometimes I make them with the garlic, chives and cheese and other times I just make them plain. This also makes a super yummy crust for pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paswifelaura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochran, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I didn't think that these buscuits would really turn out with "restaurant" quality. They were wonderful and scarfed down. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
These were super easy and delicious! I substituted dried chives for fresh chives from my garden and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Great simple recipe. The texture is just how biscuits should be--a bit dry and crispy outside, light and moist inside. I felt like it needed some changes, though. I added fresh green onion with the cheese and milk since I didn't have chives, and that was a nice addition. I followed other reviewers' advice and added some extra Parmesan with the aged cheddar, but still thought they weren't cheesy enough. Also tasted like way too much garlic salt. Next time, I'll cut down on the garlic salt and add raw garlic with the green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Excellent recipe! I did use 1 cup milk and also added straight 1/4tsp garlic powder and fresh chives instead of dried. My only comment is I think I would cut the salt a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
So happy to find a drop biscuit recipe to use as a guideline! I almost never follow a recipe exactly. Instead of garlic salt, chives, and milk, I used 1c. buttermilk, 1t. kosher salt, & 1/2 c. aged white cheddar. I served it for breakfast with scrambled eggs, diced ham & onions, topped with some of the same white cheese. I look forward to making these biscuits again; they were perfect. It would definitely be good with fresh chives. I will do a decadent bacon grease and bits instead of shortening for a special occasion. My oven only heats to 350, I made 9 good size biscuits and baked for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
How is this perfect for CAMPING if they are made in the oven? Can someone help me adjust this to propane stove top directions!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States