Cheese Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I like that it was quick and tasty, I made Fancy Fish Italiano and it was a good paring. thanks, happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Everyone liked them. We had them with Brunswick Stew! I didn't have shortening or milk so I used butter and buttermilk. Also I didn't have chives. I still used garlic and salt. And I didn't really measure anything, I just poured buttermilk in until it was moist and I grated cheese until it looked like enough. Oh, and I did cut down the baking powder to 2 teaspoons. My rule of thumb is to use a teaspoon per cup of flour because once I had a terrible experience with some biscuits that tasted like straight baking powder! I baked them in a large muffin tin. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Disappointed in these. I followed the recipe and ended up throwing them out. They lacked flavor and were very dry and bland. I ended up re-making this recipe and upped the milk, butter, cheese, garlic and chives. Sadly I didn't write down what I did but they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Turned out great! I added a little extra milk, cheddar cheese and Parmesan cheese as others recommend. Best when they first come, brushed with garlic butter. Okay the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Keystone Heights, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
These were super easy and fast to make. They turned out very light and flaky. I did do a couple of slight tweaks to the recipe. I didn't have any shortening or butter so I substituted cold coconut oil and cut it into the flour mixture with a pastry cutter like you would with butter. I also added more cheese, probably about 1 cup or so and a little bit more salt & garlic, though the next time, I'd nix the extra salt. They turned out great with just the slightest hint of coconut, which I didn't mind at all. Fantastic straight out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
These were excellent. I followed the advice of other reviewers and substituted garlic powder for garlic salt. I also used butter instead of shortening, increased the milk and cheese to 1 cup and added 1/8 cup of crumbled sharp Imperial Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Pretty terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Webster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Great, quick, and easy. I made 8 biscuits with 1 cup flour, .5 tbsp bkg pwd, .5 tsp garlic powder, .25 tsp salt, little more than 1/8 cup butter, 1/2 cup almond milk, shredded cheese for my half, shredded parmesan cheese in all dough. Brushed with garlic salt and melted butter after coming out of oven. Hubby loved them and they were milk free for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
We don't usually like drop biscuits but as long as you add an extra 1/2 cup milk and double the cheese, these are nice and moist in the middle. I also followed reviewers advice and brushed them with melted butter once they were done. My oven ran a little hot at 450, so next time I'll probably bring the heat down to 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VLICIOUS8704

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Ever since I had Red Lobster's biscuits, I have been trying to replicate them, that is until now. These are absolutely phenomenal. I altered it just a tad. I used a quarter cup of butter, I was out of chives, so instead I added a dash of rosemary (that is like 3 or 4 shakes out of one of those tiny spice containers), added 1 tsp of garlic powder instead of garlic salt, and 1 cup of buttermilk. I never have to go to Red Lobster again for them. These are so simple to make and so delicious. I ate almost half a dozen in 1 sitting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States