Cheese Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Cut the mustard in half and cook it right so it doesn't come out grainy (read some other reviews that address this) and this sauce comes out pretty tasty. I didn't measure my cheese, pretty sure I used more than the recipe. Add some drops of Sriracha for a little extra zing. Love it with breadsticks I make with the Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Very easy to make! Creamy & tasty! I was out of milk, so I used fat free half & half. I think using a block of cheese instead of bagged makes a big difference. Used only 1/2 tsp mustard and figured I'd adjust from there. The 1/2 tsp was good enough for my taste. Whisking constantly and adding the cheese in a little at a time also helps avoid it being gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This recipe is delicious and easy!! I use this with crusty bread, and is part of our fondue. I just add a little less salt, because I use marble cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Gignac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I love this cheese sauce it is my go to sauce , I use dejion mustard about a tablespoon, a teaspoon of dry mustard powder and a couple splashes of Worcestershire sauce , and it taste amazing I also use low fat milk and I add way more cheese than a cup I split between a mild cheddar and a american it seems to be the best combo also the first few times I tried to make the rou ( flour +butter part) it would get to thick to fast and I would have trouble with clumps so I melt butter then add a little flour at a time until I've unused half the flour then I add about two tablespoons of the milk mix then the rest of the flour it helps making the rou so much easier OK hope that helps I'm going to eat my breakfast burritos !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
it was just ok. The mustard was too much and I like mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was extremely powedery, I didn't using bagged cheese I shredded my own, It has no taste at all and its so gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years and it always turns out well. It's quite flexible since you can tailor it any way you like by changing the type of mustard or cheese (and adding other seasoning, as desired). I think that some people forget that the finished product is always dependent on high-quality ingredients (organic is best, IMO) and proper execution of the recipe. You have to make sure the roux is cooked long enough before slowly adding the milk. It will start to bubble and turn brown, getting slightly thick in the meantime. Using cheese that you've shredded at home may work better since packaged shredded cheese contains additives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was alright. I used sharp cheddar; I think it would not have that great of a flavor with regular cheddar. It still seemed to be missing something so I added a touch of cayenne pepper and ended up adding some green chilies after dipping a few chips (thanks to Baking Nana for the green chili idea). After the additions, hubby kept diving in for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
A really basic cheese sauce - more like something that would be good over cauliflower or broccoli. This would be good over a spicy chili or add some green chilies or jalapenos and kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Poured over cauliflower, it came out great! Really simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States