Cheese Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
WHY IS IT GREEN IN THE PIC? don't get....but since half the ppl reviewing this obviously don't know anything about cooking, if it turns out gritty, you are either using milk with not enough fat or not cooking your flour long enough. So use whole milk and make sure you are cooking your flour long enough to get rid of the raw taste and texture, and I'm sure it will turn out smooth and delicious. If you still have issues though, maybe you're using too much flour but im pretty sure just using whole milk and cooking it longer will fix problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I left out the mustard, but really like the recipe. It came out nice and smooth, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
The gritty or powdery texture MAY come from using shredded cheese from a bag. They coat that stuff in STARCH to prevent it from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
i just tried it —LISA WHETSTINE and i did it in 2 min with ease. go back to the kitchen woman =P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Cut the mustard in half and cook it right so it doesn't come out grainy (read some other reviews that address this) and this sauce comes out pretty tasty. I didn't measure my cheese, pretty sure I used more than the recipe. Add some drops of Sriracha for a little extra zing. Love it with breadsticks I make with the Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Very easy to make! Creamy & tasty! I was out of milk, so I used fat free half & half. I think using a block of cheese instead of bagged makes a big difference. Used only 1/2 tsp mustard and figured I'd adjust from there. The 1/2 tsp was good enough for my taste. Whisking constantly and adding the cheese in a little at a time also helps avoid it being gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This recipe is delicious and easy!! I use this with crusty bread, and is part of our fondue. I just add a little less salt, because I use marble cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Gignac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I love this cheese sauce it is my go to sauce , I use dejion mustard about a tablespoon, a teaspoon of dry mustard powder and a couple splashes of Worcestershire sauce , and it taste amazing I also use low fat milk and I add way more cheese than a cup I split between a mild cheddar and a american it seems to be the best combo also the first few times I tried to make the rou ( flour +butter part) it would get to thick to fast and I would have trouble with clumps so I melt butter then add a little flour at a time until I've unused half the flour then I add about two tablespoons of the milk mix then the rest of the flour it helps making the rou so much easier OK hope that helps I'm going to eat my breakfast burritos !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
it was just ok. The mustard was too much and I like mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was extremely powedery, I didn't using bagged cheese I shredded my own, It has no taste at all and its so gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States