Cheese Dip with Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Last summer we had some hot beer cheese dip served with soft pretzel bites at a pub in Waterbury, VT. It was delicious and we've all been craving it. This recipe tastes just like the one we ordered at that pub - my family loved it! Since it was taking a while for the mix of 3 cheeses to melt on the stove, I put them in the microwave (before adding the wheat beer) for a minute or so, stirred, and then poured them back in the pan on the stove to add the beer. That really speeded things up. I had one box of 6 soft SuperPretzels that I heated in the microwave without the salt. Then I cut each pretzel into 6 or so pieces with a pizza cutter. Ideally, we could have used a second box (12 pretzels total)as 6 were not enough. We ended up eating the rest of the dip with Wheat Thins and carrots - it was so good we didn't want any to go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Beer and Cheese....can you go wrong??? Wonderful, this needs to be kept in a heating dish, I used a small crock pot to keep it fluid, otherwise it gets rather hard, pretty fast. This recipe was delicious, I used a hearty beer and the flavor really came through. If you don't like a strong beer flavor I would choose a light beer or an ice brew. YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
The flavor of this was very good and it's very, very hearty and filling. If I make this again, I will thin it just a little bit by adding more beer. It's very thick and as it cools it gets thicker. We didn't like it much with bread because it's so creamy. It was much better with crackers and pretzels (anything with a crunch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was amazing! Everyone ate it up and raved! Some things we added were: add real garlic, and sea salt, and 4 drops of liquid smoke. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This recipe was a big hit at the football party. Many requests for the recipe. We used Newcastle Ale beer and it turned out great. Many requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMCLRH2O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I served this with nachos at a party, and it was a huge hit! I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt (it certainly didn't need more salt), and added some jalapeno peppers. Next time I'll thin it out a bit, possibly with more beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Perfect, wouldn't change a thing. It's like anything, you have to use good ingredients to get a good finished product; make sure the beer you use is one you would drink. We made a party of supper last night and served this with a big salad, and to dip; kielbasa slices, large,homemade croutons, soft pretzels, and fries. I think I'm cooking up some macaroni and thowing it in the oven with the remaining dip for a delicious mac and cheese tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This was not very good at all. I can't quite put my finger on why though. I'll stick with the cold beer cheese dip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This recipe was such a hit at our last Husker party that my family insisted on a mass emailing of the recipe. It is that good. It does thicken up but as a previous review stated you can just thin it out with more beer. Hey, this recipe could be adapted with crunchy bacon bits, mushrooms...I even thought about adding walnuts. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ashton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very good! I opted to add garlic, rather than garlic salt and carmelized onions to add a bit more flavor. Different beers also change the flavor of the dip as well, if you are looking for ways to amend the recipes for your personal tastes. I did without the pumpernickel and just dumped it in a bowl. I used it for chip dip. It is a bit thick, but you can just add more beer to thin it out to your preference. Good, easy and tasty. Just great football food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimbobthered

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States