Cheese Dip with Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Excellent dip! Used Mad River Brewing Co. Double IPA and sharp cheddar. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Delicious! I used monterrey jack cheese instead of the mozzarella, and it added a nice kick! Also, the cream stout I used added some acidity. Great with soft pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINNECIDENCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was fantastic. I used Bell's Amber Ale; it gave a mild beer flavor which worked for the guests who weren't into beer. I also served in a crock-pot so ended up using a full bottle instead of the cup so it wouldn't get too thick. Substituted garlic salt for 4 cloves of roasted garlic. Served with pumpernickel points, garlic bagel chips, and french bread crostini. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martyrthisthat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
We all loved this! I added a lot more beer than the recipe calls for (I think it was about a bottle and a half that I used) to get the consistency that I wanted. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I made this for my husband and a few of his friends that came over for a football game. I served it with some soft pretzel bites, bacon wrapped smokies, and a few other finger foods. They loved it! One of the friends had me write down the recipe for him before he left. I personally was not a fan of it, and it did harden, even after adding extra beer. But if the guys liked it, that's all that matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissys_cooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Really good! Very rich and thick. I would suggest leaving it on the stove over very low heat or in a small crock pot. It did seem to thicken all of the sudden. Really good with carrots, and melba toast. Added fresh chopped garlic and left out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This recipe was such a hit at our last Husker party that my family insisted on a mass emailing of the recipe. It is that good. It does thicken up but as a previous review stated you can just thin it out with more beer. Hey, this recipe could be adapted with crunchy bacon bits, mushrooms...I even thought about adding walnuts. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ashton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very good! I opted to add garlic, rather than garlic salt and carmelized onions to add a bit more flavor. Different beers also change the flavor of the dip as well, if you are looking for ways to amend the recipes for your personal tastes. I did without the pumpernickel and just dumped it in a bowl. I used it for chip dip. It is a bit thick, but you can just add more beer to thin it out to your preference. Good, easy and tasty. Just great football food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimbobthered

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Works best if you do not use low fat cream cheese, Mozzeralla cheese and Cheddar cheese because you will get a grainy texture. You need the fats to have a creamy texture. Cooking it at a high temperature and for a long period of time can also add to the poor texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I followed the recipe exact and it has a good flavor but a slightly gritty consistancy. Idk if that happened because I couldn't quite melt the cream cheese completely or because that is just how cheddar cheese melts down. It wasn't so gritty that I couldn't eat it but not as smooth as I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Nault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States