Cheese Dip with Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I doubled the recipe, to take to a team event at work. It was so incredibly easy, and cooked up just as described. Everyone loved it. Instead of a bread bowl, I served with soft pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This was not very good at all. I can't quite put my finger on why though. I'll stick with the cold beer cheese dip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Neeeds a bit more garlic and a shot of Frank's or two, but quite delicious and the ideal dip for fried jalapeno's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Perfect, wouldn't change a thing. It's like anything, you have to use good ingredients to get a good finished product; make sure the beer you use is one you would drink. We made a party of supper last night and served this with a big salad, and to dip; kielbasa slices, large,homemade croutons, soft pretzels, and fries. I think I'm cooking up some macaroni and thowing it in the oven with the remaining dip for a delicious mac and cheese tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I brought this to a Holiday party, and EVERYONE asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I can't decide if I liked this or not. Both my boyfriend and I were sort of "meh" about it. Was missing something....but I'm not sure what. Just seemed sort of bland. Definitely would use garlic powder next time (as others have suggested) as it was salty enough with all of the cheese. Might try again but play around with seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Fischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was really good. I made this for a St. Patrick's Day party and put the dip in a mini crock pot. Did not use the bread bowl and used Guinness for the beer. I really liked dipping with potato chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
i completely butchered this recipe in all honesty, but though perhaps my review would help others in the same boat as me. i chose to use the slow cooker so i wouldn't have to be prepping the dip while people were already at my house. as i was putting everything in the crock pot, i had a sudden panic attack that it wouldn't reach the temperature for the alcohol to cook off, and kids would be eating it....so i chose not to put the beer in. i decided to add a brick of velveeta because after putting in the other cheeses, there wasn't very much in the crock pot. all said and done, it was a good dip. it got hard and difficult to dip very quickly. while i like the bread bowl concept, i think i would have been better keeping it in the crock pot and serving from there so it didn't congeal so quickly. however i appreciate this recipe for being a yummy cheese dip that isn't to spicy for the kids! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
The taste was great, although the cheese set up too quickly after taking it out of the sauce pan. I'm not sure that has anything to do with the recipe, though. I might be more of a fan to use this as a fondue dip, where it would stay on the heat constantly. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blaireli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marengo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Great dip - had to heat it thoroughly, and used a whole bottle of beer - it helped keep it from getting hard later on. Added a few things - chopped scallions, used real garlic (grated), and a little spicy mustard. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States