Cheese Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
These needed to be rolled out-they came out with a crumbly cookie texture and extra baking would not crisp them up. I suggest using a rolling pin and making these almost paper thin to get the right "cracker" consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjorie1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moodus, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
One of my favorites! But the ball-rolling thing is too much trouble...roll into logs on wax paper, refrigerate overnight, slice in 1/4 in slices, and bake. Lasts forever in the freezer and you can bake some up whenever you need to gain a few pounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Rhea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luckspent
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Made this tonight! They are yummy hot. I wonder if any will last util tomorrow :) We were thinking bacon crumbs would be crazy good in these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I made these crackers the first time a few months ago. We ate them up much too quickly for having only 2 people in the house! The crispy, cheesy flavor is so much better than any commercially made cheese crackers. I made no changes to the recipe. The dough didn't "roll" into balls, I had to compress balls by hand and I found it much easier to flatten them by hand rather than with a fork. We could taste the red pepper in them, but it's just a hint of heat. I'm putting a bit more pepper when I make them just for us as we like spicy foods. I've also made them twice for coffee hour at church and they were a big hit there, with people coming back for more.... and more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I just made these for a barbecue and although it's a bit time consuming (the 1/2 inch size yields a LOT of crackers and each tray takes 30 min to bake but...) it was well worth it. They are cheesy and buttery and just a tad spicy (even the guests who shy away from spicy food enjoyed them). And the leftovers (like I said, it made a lot) were great for the next week or so (in an airtight container).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Tasty. I just made them, and am already imagining them alongside some cream of tomato soup or with an iced glass of tomato juice w/lemon, or maybe with some different dips. They were done in my oven in 23 minutes. I baked them on parchment paper, so I don't know how they'd come out on a plain cookie sheet, but with all the butter --- probably fine. One possible tip: Maybe it's our high altitude, but the cracker dough didn't "roll" into balls for me. They needed to be compressed by hand and "formed" into balls. I wondered if they would fall apart during the baking process, but they came out fine. I'm thinking of trying some pepper-jack cheese in them next time. Or some fresh chives. How about oregano or basil ? They're a fun, new treat, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I need to 1/2 this recipe so we won't eat so many. We don't like a lot of heat so I only used a sprinkle of cayenne. Really liked the rice krispies in them. I think it would be good with corn flakes too if you didn't have any rice krispies in the house. I flattened the balls of dough with the heel of my hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
These are fantastic! Used very sharp cheddar and they were definitely not bland. Followed your recipe except for using cayenne (1/4 tsp). Next time may try topping with sesame seeds and a light dusting of paprika. The heat wasn't overwhelming so everyone enjoyed them. I almost forgot the last pan and they were golden brown--a bit too done! 25-30 min. was perfect in my oven. My suggestion would be to watch carefully after 20 min. because once they begin to turn color they over cook very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Made recipe exactly as written. Was expecting something like Cheez-it crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this recipe for a crowd of people who all loved them. I used the other reviewers suggestions for substitute ingredients I didn't have to hand: oil instead of butter, 1/4 tsp Cayenne in place of Chilli flakes & crushed potato chips instead of Rice Cereal. I'd add more Chilli or Cayenne next time as I like more zing but will def add this to the snacks menu at ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States