Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
This was a yummy bread to go with Potato Soup. Our whole family-Mom, Dad, and 4 boys-loved it. The only thing we would change is not as much mayo. If you are not a big mayo person, you may want to reduce that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
I cut up real garlic and melted it with the butter in a bowl and then spread it on the bread, instead of using garlic salt, which was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Wow! This was great. I did not measure the butter/mayo... I simply generously buttered the bread, then spread a thin layer of mayo. The reviews said the Parmesan cheese ratio was way to much, so I just lightly sprinkled the bread with Parmesan. Then I sprinkled garlic powder and topped generously with the other two cheeses. I did not broil, just baked it at 350 for about 8-10 min. while my pasta cooked......and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I LOVE THIS BREAD! I love bread and I have made many recipes and have to say that this one is now my favorite! I took the advice of other reviewers and cut the mayo back. I just spread an even layer of mayo on top of the butter. Instead of garlic salt I used garlic powder on top of the butter and mayo layer. It does broil fast...so make sure you keep a close eye on it! It melts in your mouth and my family loves it!! I have also added thinly sliced tomatoes on top of the butter/mayo layer for a little variety and it was yummy! Thanks for a great and easy recipe! My family adores this...and so do I!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was very good, but I admit I did make some changes. 1/2 cup mayo just seemed like overkill, honestly. Why so much? I lightly spread butter on my bread, and then very lightly spread some light mayo on. I only used 1/2 cup of parm, but I kept the other cheeses the same. I added 4 chopped garlic cloves. It was wonderful, especially with the garlic. I used an artisan loaf of multi-grain sourdough. We had this with Wild Rice Chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Very good. I did not use any butter & did not use 1/2 c. mayo (I used Miracle Whip Light). I also baked it rather than broil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
We didn't like the flavor the mayonnaise gave to this bread. I'll keep searching for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Really yummy and easy recipe. Only changes I made was I used fresh minced garlic instead of the garlic salt....I'm a garlic freak so it had to be done. Totally recommend this recipe to go with pasta or for comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I halfed recipe and used 2 sub buns. Seemed a little to greasy, maybe cut down on the butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Definitely liked it better w/o the mayonnaise. Great otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States