Cheese Blintzes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
YUM! Just a few things though... 1.) If you are going to cut them up, do it BEFORE you dip them into the melted butter. It makes for a LOT less mess. Personally, I think they are prettier left whole (especially if you are planning on serving them to guests) 2.) I had extras of almost every ingredient except the cinnamon/sugar. My suggestion would be: double the cinnamon, TRIPLE the sugar, and cut all of the rest of the ingredients in half (unless you want to make a TON!). 3.) When you roll the bread slices flat, make sure it is very smashed. Otherwise the butter soaks into the bread too much and makes it really soggy. And last... 4.) Bake them longer than it calls for (about 15 minutes). I had never had these before, but this recipe is a keeper. I think it would be great to serve at a brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
I was tickled to see this recipe - my great-Aunt Erma (who always called them "blini") taught me to make these years ago. We don't serve them with the sour cream, but they are always a hit. A quick tip - the cinnamon-sugar can get a bit lumpy and tacky from the melted butter after a while. so start out with only half the butter and cinnamon-sugar in small bowls. When you are halfway done dipping the blini, toss the old tacky stuff and start dipping the other half with fresh melted butter and cinnamon-sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Kensington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
These were a real hit with the all the moms and kids at my sons Valentines Day party. Easy to make and great tasting. One suggestion, these should be served the same day. I made these a day ahead and they became slightly soggy. These taste great hot out of the oven. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECMEISTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Delicious!!! I served these as dessert for my husband's Super Bowl party. After eating so many spicy and salty things, the men loved these, and several asked for the recipe. They're easy and fun to make, and they're just yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
I loved this recipe!!! So easy, and delicious!! Tastes great if you add comstock fruit to it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I have always been a bit skeptical of dessert recipes that call for white bread, but this recipe changed that! These were so cheap and easy to make. So delicious and sweet. I ended up using three times the sugar and cinnamon just as another reviewer did. I baked them a little longer too, the ends get a little crispy that way, mmmm. Perfect recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
A huge hit at a football party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
these are great! I add a splash of vanilla extract to the cream cheese mix, and its great!! I love making these for parties and kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
These are so pretty! I only used half of the cream cheese mixture for 20 ounces of bread (yep, less mixture for more bread than called for). I rolled them tight and cut them in half diagonally before dipping them in butter. If you want to avoid having a plate with cinnamon sugar paste on it, sprinkle the cinnamon sugar on them instead of rolling. I had McCormick pre-mixed cinn-sugar and using that was great. I baked them for 15 minutes on parchment paper lined cookie sheets. (Parchment paper is my best friend in the kitchen). I didn't use the sour cream , just served them as is and got great compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I was extremely excited about this after reading all the glowing reviews but I was ultimately disappointed. I followed some tips and added egg and sugar to the cream cheese mix and it was ok, kind of a simple cheesecake mixture. I also didn't find it too messy or difficult. The thing that for me let it down the most was the white bread...I was skeptical but based on comments I was hopeful that the bread would undergo some kind of transformation which it did not...it tasted like cheesecake mix wrapped in white bread sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. And whether you like them or hate them I think to call them blintzes is extremely misleading as they are not even close to the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States