Cheese Blintzes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
FANTASTIC! I made them for a baby shower I was throwing. I used a "butter top" bread and rolled out each peice with a rolling pin SUPER flat. I didn't cut them down to 1" either but left them whole. I did have to cook them longer then advised (about 20 minutes at 350) Let them rest for about 10 minutes and sprinkle them with powdered sugar and serve with strawberry preserves for dipping or mix the strawberries with the sour cream if you like. They were all gone! Wish I would have made more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
these are yummy, but reminded me very little of blinzes, which involves crepes. my son was in charge of pounding the bread flat, and i have to say he did a good job. but even then, bread just isn't super flat! i didn't think this was a very messy job at all; in fact, it was quick and easy. i used 8 oz lactose-free cream cheese, with a splash of vanilla. avoided additional sugar, since we have blintes for breaking the yom kippur fast at dinner. we brushed a few tablespoons of butter on them before baking and did not cut them in half (and did have to bake them a little longer than suggested). i thought they were tasty, and fun to eat, and my son loved them. we might make them again for fun, but i think next yom kippur i will go ahead and make traditional blintzes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
They turned out great not one left but I used to make these and had kind of forgotten how and I realized after I had made them I add an egg and half a cup of sugar to the filling makes them a little sweeter and better in my mind
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I think these were pretty easy to make, but I didn't care for the taste...or maybe it was the texture. I might try them some time with something instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Loved these, although I didn't care to dip them in the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
these were just awesome, and bogglingly easy. Nummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamontheinternet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
excellent ! at first my kids were a bit on the leary side... but once they tasted it, there was no turningback! they devoured them ! served it up with fresh fruit... didn't have sour cream and they were delicous... thanks for the recipe. fast and easy for a breakfast treat !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This was so easy! They were just fine without the sour cream. I added a little confectioner's sugar to the cream cheese mixture to sweeten it just slightly. I doubled the vanilla as suggested by others. Instead of rolling the cheese blintzes in butter, I used a pastry brush to apply the butter. I sprinkled the cinnamon-sugar mixture on the tops, so I didn't have problems with the blintzes sticking to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
I have never bought white bread before I decided to try this recipe. I made these for a party and everyone loved them, and couldn't believe at they were made with white bread! Definitely follow the advice to cut them before dipping in butter. It's messy but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusySpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
These are a family favorite and have been since I was a little girl. The one thing we do differently is cut the bread diagonally before spreading the cream cheese mixture. If you do it this way they're the perfect size when you roll them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Brooklyn Mac & Cheese

This "ooey, gooey" super comforting Mac and Cheese recipe is so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States