Cheese Ball I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Excellent recipe. Just needed a couple modifications to make it perfect!. Do everything as the recipe calls for, except only use two cups of sharp cheddar(3 1/2 cups is WAY to much). Then, add 2.25oz of dried beef(chopped very fine), green onions(just enough for color and a little zest) and a dab of worcestershire sauce. Make sure that you get the RANCH DRESSING MIX instead of dip mix(this is important). It WILL BE to salty if you mess up and get the dip mix. Mixing it together works alot better when done with your hands(feels yucky, works great). Also, I made sure to chop my pecans fine. Taking it out of the fridge about an hour before serving makes it just right for the crackers. We served this at a party of about 6 people and it was gone before anything else was touched. Hands down, a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
843 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Country Cooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morton, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I made this cheese ball for my christmas party and everyone just loved it!I changed a few things.I would advise not using the whole packet of ranch mix,to salty.I used all but a tablespoon,turned out perfect.I also added a cup of monterey jack cheese.make sure you get the finely shredded cheese so it's easier to mix.also,i let the cheeseball sit in the fridge for about 12 hours and got it out about 2 hours before my party started.served it with ritz crackers,WONDERFUL!everyone loved it so much they asked me when i would be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dexter, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
Delicious and SO easy. BUT - I think the amt. of Cheddar cheese is a printed incorrectly. I used one cup of finely shredded cheddar and it was perfect - 16 oz. would be too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Excellent! I added 1T Worchestershire and 1T Tabasco. I received lots of compliments. It is a keeper! Note: I have made this twice. Once using Hidden Valley DIPS mix and once using Hidden Valley Ranch dressing mix. There is a huge difference. Use the Salad Dressing mix and NOT the dips. The dips mix is very, very salty. (Edited 5/22/2010)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Wonderful!!! I made this for a work Christmas luncheon and it went quickly. My husband asked me to make it again for my family for Christmas and my sister claimed all the leftovers before anyone even arrived. I did make a few changes: I added 1 jar of chipped beef, 1 Tbsp Worcheshire, and reduced the chedder cheese to one 8 oz. package of shredded sharp cheddar. To form it into a ball I lined a bowl with plastic wrap and spooned the cheese inside. Then pull up on the edges of the plastic wrap to create a ball. I then rolled it into some of the chipped beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Super tasty and so easy to make! I just put the cream cheese in my food processor and pulse a few times to soften it. Then add the dressing mix, pulse again. Finally, add the Cheddar cheese in batches until it's all incorporated. This method produces a smooth and fluffy mixture that then can be shaped and coated easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I formed a snowman and then frosted it with whipped cream cheese. No nuts. I used celery for arms, a small carrot nose, raisin eyes, a radichio "scarf", raisin buttons etc. It is delicious and a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
this recipe was absolutely fantastic. easy to make and it actually tasted like a cheeseball you would buy. (a lot of cheeseball recipes are good, but you can definitely tell they're mostly cream cheese and homemade; not so with this one.) i laughed when i went to roll the balls, though. i got three, good-sized balls out of it. can't imagine how gigantic one big one would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
It's a good cheese ball, but if you use a little less ranch dressing mix it's better. I added chopped green onions and very finely chopped dried beef. I didn't use the nuts, but covered the cheese ball with small squares of dried beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
The best cheese ball, by far. This was a hit at Thanksgiving. I added a little minced garlic and parsley flakes to the mixture and omitted the decorative pecan halves. I only wish it wasn't so hard and you could dip your crackers right into it without them breaking! I think a zap in the microwave before serving would do the trick. Overall, very yummy and addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States