Cheese Ball I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This was the best recipe for a cheese ball i have ever made. I did make some minor changes however. 2 cups of cheddar cheese is plenty and i didn't need the entire package of dressing mix. As odd as it sounds, i used shelled sunflower seeds instead of the pecans. It turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This is the BOMB! Be sure to make the modifications mentioned by others: *cut finely shredded cheddar cheese down to 2 cups *be sure to use ranch dressing mix not dip mix *add some chopped scallions for color and 2.25 oz dried beef (buddig) chopped for flavor *add a splash of worsteshire Oh, so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Very good recipe! I added a few dashes of worcestershire sauce very a smokier flavor. Also chopped pecans and sprinkled parsley over the nuts before rolling. Very pretty and yummy! Thanks for this quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amrenee
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Very good! I made as written, except rolled into individual balls. Worked our perfect to put the balls into a ring on the outside of a serving plate and fill the middle with Wheat Thins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I combined suggestions and added one myself. I used one container of Imperial Sharp Cheese (cold pressed in a red container with black lid) instead of the shredded cheese. I used only about a tablespoon dry Ranch dip mix, a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, about 5+ drops of Tabasco sauce, and 3-4 cloves of garlic minced. I made the small balls and rolled them in finely chopped/almost ground pecans. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lucknow, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I made and served at my sister's wedding reception. It was an appetizer reception I catered. I doubled the recipe and made two large cheese balls the pecans and two large cheese logs I rolled in pecans. I toasted the pecans which gave them an added sweetness and crunch. I also only used about 1/2 - 3/4 oz Ranch dressing mix and this was plenty, any more and it would be too salty and over-power the other flavors. I, too, only added 2 1/2 cups sharp cheddar cheese. More and the cheddar would have over-powered the other flavors, probably because I did use sharp cheddar. Both the plain and the pecan were equally enjoyed by the wedding guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I have been making this recipe for year and years now. Everyone raves about it and asks for the recipe. For easier blending, using a stand up mixer with the flat blade, or use food handling gloves for hand mixing. If using packaged cheese I use Kraft's Meixican blend, if using freshly shredded cheese, I use co-jack. To roll in the pecans easily, I spread the chooped pecans on a sheet of saran wrap. Then simply roll the log (or ball) onto the pecans, wrap up in the saran wrap and pop into the fridge! This is best with Ritz crackers or those little chicken biscuit crackers by Nabisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akakizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mulberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I made this, minus the pecans, for my friend's bonfire(more like a fire-pit) party, basically a group of high school seniors, anyway, everyone loved it! It was really easy to make, and it tastes great on everything...I put the leftovers on my bagel this morning...I'm definitely going to make it for the next one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
to MrsHavens1984....sorry i didn't see your dissapointment of this cheesse ball sooner but try my version & you'll be happy...think the original HV ranch is to salty so I stick with the buttermilk blend..our Giant Eagle doesn't carry it so I stock up when I go to Drug Mart....don't need to add anything but all 3 ingred......I've been making it for several people & end up freezing some for emergency situations....in fact I've done some for dips by adding some beer to it so you can make it into a dip..WoW!..naturally you can always add exra stuff (like bacon,etc, but no need when 3 simple ingred work....go with the flo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
We make a cheeseball that is very similar to this one. Difference is - less cheddar and instead of rolling it in pecans we roll it in "Jane's Krazy Mixed-Up Pepper". May sound strange but trust me...it's good and sure to get compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States