Cheese Babka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
The smell of this baking is enough to drive you crazy. So delicious. I will say - be patient with the rising times - mine took much longer than stated - but that might have been that it was pretty chilly here. I also used the zest of one fresh lemon - I had no dried. I am not Polish and I had never made a Babka before - this will be the start of a whole new tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
After searching for a cheese babka for Easter and finding that all the stores and bakeries were out of them, we decided to make this on Easter Eve! My husband put all of the dough ingredients into the bread machine and ran it on the dough cycle while I was at work. When I got home, I removed the dough and got started. The dough was very sticky, so I would probably add some additional flour next time. For the filling, I subbed cream cheese for the farmers cheese and I also didn't need the whole 2 tbl. of melted butter, but otherwise I followed the recipe and it came out fabulous. On Easter, my family all said they hoped I would make it every year and never buy one again. This definitely was equal or better than any babka we've purchased...even from the Polish bakery. It wasn't too difficult to make and was so worth it. Thanks for sharing the recipe. It will now be a family Easter tradition for us. (Mine came out a little dark. My oven runs low, so I upped the temp to 375. Next time, I'll leave it at 350 and I think it'll be perfect.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen =^..^=

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Prospect Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I reviewed this recipe on March 30, but decided to update the review after making it several times and each time it gets better than the last. Doubt it is as authentic, but it is sure scrumptious. We have now become Cheese Bapka addicts, thanks to this wonderful recipe, and no longer have to order it from New York. We incorporated the following changes to the recipe and it is right on the mark for us and is picture perfect, like Kristina’s photograph. As others have indicated, dough is a bit sticky and we added about ¾ cup of flour. We added additional vanilla to the dough and also the filling. We rolled the dough out on a huge cutting board covered with parchment paper which made the dough much easier to roll. We used cream cheese, instead of Farmer’s Cheese (as suggested by one reviewer), and it was just as good or better. We also did not spread the cheese mixture all the way to the other end and the mixture stayed contained in the dough and spread throughout to the end when rolling it. Next, we did not twist the dough and none of the cheese leaked out to the side of the pan during cooking time. We baked for 30 minutes perfect; moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I love this Babka.. I am Ukrainian and it is a staple at holidays. I even made my own farmers cheese (also a recipe I found on this site...thanks!) and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIRSTCONVERT
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was a beautiful bread. The top side was even more gorgeous than the bundt side. The dough was very sticky - I had to add another cup of flour before and at least one cup during the kneading process (almost 2 more cups than recipe called for). I also had to sub cream cheese for farmer's cheese - my store just didn't have it. The dough was tender and soft and sweet and wonderful. And the house smelled fabulous as well. Great recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Weston, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
My dear 91 year old mother in law from Slovakia used to make this but never wanted to share her recipe. I recognized the ingredients and made it. It was easy to do and tasted absolutely delicious, just like she used to make. So good on Easter Sunday with ham and easter eggs. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Amazing recipe! My parents are Polish & Ukranian and both raved that this recipe reminded them of their grandparent's babka. The bread was extremely moist & flavorful! I added some raisin as well. My only problem is that my dough did not rise (double in size as directed) - even after over 2 hours. It still tasted great, but I'd like to see dough rise as it should. Thanks for posting this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
So Moist!! My first time making babka, a little tricky but worth the time and effort...everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinlife!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Oh yes. This is babka I remember as a kid. I really love the hint of lemon as well. thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This was a great recipe!!!! I will never buy Babka again. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francine Platt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States