Cheese Babka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was a surprise to everyone. I always make desserts for the holidays & I was interested in this thinking it would be like a bread meets cheese danish & I was glad I hit the head of the nail. The process was a bit complicated but I had so much fun twisting this up. Don't worry about the dried lemon peel, I just zested a lemon. I also never used farmer's cheese, I found it easily in my grocer's dairy section by friendship. Good luck & thanks it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muh-Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Being of Polish descent, I've made or had a few babkas, and this was very good. Earlier, I attempted to make my own Farmer's cheese for this, from this site, but it didn't turn out well at all. So, I followed other's advice here and sub'd cream cheese. It worked very well. I just thought that there was TOO MUCH cheese. It's very rich. I would have liked a little more bread. Next time, I would halve the filling, and I think I would like it better. My oven runs hot, and it was ready at 30 min. I know it's a cheese babka, but I can see this plain, with raisins added, or even changing out the filling, i.e. prune. Thanks KRISTINALANGER for the great recipe! Smacznego!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe, my grandmother use to make babka every holiday and never passed on the recipes, out of 6 aunts and uncles and countless cousins I am the only one who makes it, and everyone always requests it, it went from being a Christmas tradition to an every holiday staple. The only thing I do is double the vanilla simply because we love vanilla!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Excellent. I will say to work fast folding the cheese into the dough and getting it into the pan. Two of the three I made had the cheese oozing out of the dough before i could get in the pan. I was very frustrated, but they all tasted great; just like I remember from Gramma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Roscoe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Delicious! Like the old fashioned polish babka that my grandmother used to make. I added golden raisins onto the cheese layer and it was perfect! Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Oh man was this yummy. Used small curd cottage cheese, drained over night and then put through a ricer. It worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&D'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I reviewed this recipe on March 30, but decided to update the review after making it several times and each time it gets better than the last. Doubt it is as authentic, but it is sure scrumptious. We have now become Cheese Bapka addicts, thanks to this wonderful recipe, and no longer have to order it from New York. We incorporated the following changes to the recipe and it is right on the mark for us and is picture perfect, like Kristina’s photograph. As others have indicated, dough is a bit sticky and we added about ¾ cup of flour. We added additional vanilla to the dough and also the filling. We rolled the dough out on a huge cutting board covered with parchment paper which made the dough much easier to roll. We used cream cheese, instead of Farmer’s Cheese (as suggested by one reviewer), and it was just as good or better. We also did not spread the cheese mixture all the way to the other end and the mixture stayed contained in the dough and spread throughout to the end when rolling it. Next, we did not twist the dough and none of the cheese leaked out to the side of the pan during cooking time. We baked for 30 minutes perfect; moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Oh yes. This is babka I remember as a kid. I really love the hint of lemon as well. thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Amazing recipe! My parents are Polish & Ukranian and both raved that this recipe reminded them of their grandparent's babka. The bread was extremely moist & flavorful! I added some raisin as well. My only problem is that my dough did not rise (double in size as directed) - even after over 2 hours. It still tasted great, but I'd like to see dough rise as it should. Thanks for posting this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I love this Babka.. I am Ukrainian and it is a staple at holidays. I even made my own farmers cheese (also a recipe I found on this site...thanks!) and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ukiemomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States