Cheese and Sausage Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I omitted sausage and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angelinamarie3
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
First time trying stuffed zucchini- GREAT recipe! Only 4 out of 5 stars because of two small preferences. You don't need to pre-cook the zucchini in the microwave- add another 10-15 min. onto baking time (nuke it to about 450 degrees during that time) will make it perfect. It did not overcook or alter the stuffing at all. Granted, there was only two of us & we used half of a large zucchini (13"Lx4"Wx3"D) & that was enough for 2 of us, & a lunch left for tomorrow. (Plus, any leftover stuffing can be baked, too, perfect for a side or leftovers for breakfast w/ toast the following morning!)Hollow out a generous portion. Don't layer- mix ALL stuffing ingredients together- MUCH better! We also added in some of the "guts" of what we scraped out to the stuffing... SO good! Be generous with seasonings. Tofu or ground beef would also work very well in place of sausage. During the last 5-10 minutes (on broil), top with some bread crumbs & a bit more shredded cheese... PERFECT! A bit of marinara sauce is also quite a compliment for serving. This was an excellent recipe, & VERY good! Just adjust some things here & there to taste, I really recommend mixing all stuffing ingredients instead of layering... this will be a repeat in our house, especially with the fresh zucchini out of the garden! thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This was excellent! I mixed the tomatoes into the sausage and then sliced the zucchini into rounds and layered it like a lasagna. My husband, 3 year old, and 1 year old all raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was delicious! Instead of chopped tomatoes I used spaghetti sauce and I used turkey sausage instead of pork sausage. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This is so yummy !!! And the only reason I came to this site was to review it as my mother in law made it. It's too die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
The first thing I did after I tested this new recipe was go to my recipe box, found my OLD stuffed zucchini recipe and tossed it!! This is SO delicious. If you only have grocery store sized zucchini at your disposal, buy about 4. I got 2 and had a lot of extra filling materials. So as not to waste it, I toasted some slices of italian bread, lined a small baking dish with them and then put on all the toppings that would have gone in the zucchini. A very tasty improv as well. This will definitely be a fun item for my next dinner party buffet table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
My family loved this dish! I would suggest cooking the zucchini in the microwave for about three minutes to start, so yours doesn't explode like mine did! I added three large crushed garlic cloves to the cheese mixture and actually used two large zucchini and still had more than enough sausage and cheese to fill both. This was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I've given 4 stars for my amended version. The original is too bland for my taste. I used less cheese and only parmesan. Mixed the well seasoned meat with cooked rice and a little fresh mint and basil.( you can also add pine nuts and soaked raisins) Trick is to use large Zucchini, do not pre cook season shell really well before placing filling inside. I add butter too. Wrap in foil and bake slowly. if you like the top brown broil at the end with extra cheese/breadcrumbs of your choosing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Great dish - my wife and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Using exactly the amounts of ingredients suggested with a few minor cheese substitutions, this recipe made exactly enough stuffing for two (roughly 13") zucchini. Way too much for four people. I would suggest cutting it in half. Also cottage cheese is not a favorite of most kids. It doesn't seem integral, I would suggest something else more palatable. My zucchini was quite watery out of the micro and almost too soft, if you have a 1000 watt or higher, shorten the micro time. The taste is good but the zucchini was still not cooked all of the way through at the end of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States