Cheese and Sausage Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Received a giant bat sized zucchini from a friend so decided to try this recipe. Delicious. Cooked onion and garlic with the venison sausage and then added the flesh scooped out of the zucchini to the pan and sauteed that for a bit too. Stirred in tomato sauce and the cheese and filled the boats. Cooked for 40 minutes at 350 then another 10 at 425. Thanks for a new keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Made using homemade turkey breakfast sausage and colby jack cheese. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
We loved this - the second time I made it, some of the cheese mixture sort of migrated into the pan - no worries, I just scooped it up on top of the peppers - I used a mix of Italian sausage, gr round - Nom, nom! And it also freezes well, cut in serving-size portions. (BIG zucchinis !)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pickles37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Awesome recipe. Loved it, but substituted mozzarella, cheddar and parmesan cheeses, and the top layer I spooned on marinara sauce and then sprinkled mozzarella and parmesan. Worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyrene Olson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is amazing. I did the sliced/layered version because I was afraid my kids would just eat the filling if I did stuffed. Because of all of the fresh veggies, it was quite wet. Next time I will make ahead & let the cooked version sit overnight. Everyone had seconds & raved. I think that the people who thought it was bland probably used a mild sausage. I used one with a little more kick as well as fresh garlic, shredded, fresh carrots, and I did sautee the onions along with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I omitted sausage and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angelinamarie3
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
First time trying stuffed zucchini- GREAT recipe! Only 4 out of 5 stars because of two small preferences. You don't need to pre-cook the zucchini in the microwave- add another 10-15 min. onto baking time (nuke it to about 450 degrees during that time) will make it perfect. It did not overcook or alter the stuffing at all. Granted, there was only two of us & we used half of a large zucchini (13"Lx4"Wx3"D) & that was enough for 2 of us, & a lunch left for tomorrow. (Plus, any leftover stuffing can be baked, too, perfect for a side or leftovers for breakfast w/ toast the following morning!)Hollow out a generous portion. Don't layer- mix ALL stuffing ingredients together- MUCH better! We also added in some of the "guts" of what we scraped out to the stuffing... SO good! Be generous with seasonings. Tofu or ground beef would also work very well in place of sausage. During the last 5-10 minutes (on broil), top with some bread crumbs & a bit more shredded cheese... PERFECT! A bit of marinara sauce is also quite a compliment for serving. This was an excellent recipe, & VERY good! Just adjust some things here & there to taste, I really recommend mixing all stuffing ingredients instead of layering... this will be a repeat in our house, especially with the fresh zucchini out of the garden! thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This was excellent! I mixed the tomatoes into the sausage and then sliced the zucchini into rounds and layered it like a lasagna. My husband, 3 year old, and 1 year old all raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was delicious! Instead of chopped tomatoes I used spaghetti sauce and I used turkey sausage instead of pork sausage. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This is so yummy !!! And the only reason I came to this site was to review it as my mother in law made it. It's too die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States