Cheese and Sausage Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Not bad. Added more sausage and cheese, which I'm glad I did. Provided more flavor. End result - good but they looked like cookies and were on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Have made twice now. First time - good. Second time - reallllly good! Differences: mixed raw sausage (hot, not mild) and 1/4# (1 stick) of butter into dry ingredients. Used a bit more cayenne. Served w/ both a spicey salsa and ranch dressing so people had a choice for dipping. We all thought these were terrific! Because of the raw meat to start with, both times I cooked at about 375* for about 22-23 minutes. (On the second batch I purposefully froze about 6 of them in a single layer to see how they would do. Had those this eve. Baked them in a 425* oven for 7-8 minutes and then lowered to 375* for another 15-16 minutes. Worked great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These were alright. They seemed to have too much flour and not enough seasoning. The suggestion of using raw sausage and cooiking it all together is what I will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingsland, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These were a huge success at my office, everyone loved them, although I was a little nervous about them being dry! I made them the night before work and refrigerated them until the next morning, but popped them in the oven to warm and they were good. I used deer sausage!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
We use uncooked sausage and they come out a little moister. Mix with hands to get flour well incorporated. Margarine isn't needed. Balls should be fairly dry and will moisten when cooked from the sausage fat. To spice you can try a different kind of sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Englewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
These were just ok..my family didn't really go for them, although I thought they were OK...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Izzy Shores

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I have to say I was extremely disappointed in this recipe because the dough when cooked was ridiculously dry. If you try this recipe I would recommend some changes. 1) use the Johnsonville smoked sausage with cheddar, 2) cook sausage per the package instructions and then wrap the dough around the entire link in a very thin layer, 3) let cool a little and then slice about 1 inch bite sized pieces, and finally 4) make a simple cheese sauce for dipping. This I believe will improve this recipe 100%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Served this at a party - some people loved it others thought it was bland. I will try again and maybe add some garlic or some other type of seasoning. I did use black pepper instead of cayenne because I do not like spicy food. I may also try using Bisquick or cornmeal instead of floor. Would go great in the morning with eggs and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I loved these, I couldn't stop eating them. However, I only put a pinch of cayenne because I don't like things spicy so everyone else thought they were too bland....next time I'll separate it and add more spice to theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I can't give them a 5 because I have to eat them myself to do that! but my boyfriend enjoyed them the day i made them...and the next, and the next! although they weren't perfect balls and they didn't look like the ones in the picture that's up. Still if people eat them, who cares what they look like! Thanks for the recipe, I'm sure I'll get a 'remember when you made those sausage things' sometime soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: ???, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States