Cheese and Pasta in a Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
This recipe goes into my "comfort foods" list! Makes a huge batch...the leftovers were almost better than the first time around! I am going to try this recipe again soon and add some zucchini chunks to the sauce. The sour cream layer adds a touch of sweetness...great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
accidently left out the sour cream, but was still awesome!...kinda like goulash in a pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
Great recipe! Definately a keeper. I used rotini instead of elbows, and doubled the spaghetti sauce and nixed the tomatoes. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
This is a great comfort food. I used rotini instead of elbows and also per a previous suggestion added zucchini (due to a bumper crop this year zucchini goes in everything!) I really enjoyed it, and my husband had 2 HUGE helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
Very good meal. I added italian seasoning to the meat and sauce mixture for added flavor. Seems to make much more than 8 servings--the way we eat, we definitely got at least 12 servings out of this. Will probably halve recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
I am not a fan of onions or mushrooms, but in this pasta..the only word for it is amazing! It was easy to make and everyone loved it! I had to use to different pans for it and we are still eating the left overs! I will definetly be making this one again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
My whole family loved this recipe. Everyone had second helpings even my son who had already eaten. It even made enough for a couple lunches the next day. The only changes I made were to cook the onions with the ground beef and to use ridged elbow macaroni. As my eight year old said, "This one's a keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This has become my husband's favorite. Sometimes I make it the day before because we always think it's better the next day. Made two pans of it for a birthday party, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This was really good! But I changed several things and I liked it allot so I'm going to list what I did for 2 reasons: So you can see what I did and I want to remember this when I go to make this again (I will make it again!) Also for those of you with the thought that if you change a receipe up too much, you might as well post your own...well, I've tried that for yrs and have yet to have one of my submissions posted. So, this is my outlet: I used 12 oz. of lrg elbow mac and 4 oz. of a mix (which included Shells, Penne, and Spirals.) I liked the variation that some of the other shapes provided as they all hold the sauce a little differently. I wouldn't do the whole thing in a mix, but this way you ran up on another shape every other bite or so. I didn't use spag sauce, but used 1 can of stewed tomatoes and 2 cans of petite diced tomates and seasoned it myself with basil, oragano, parsley, white pepper and a few red pepper flakes (maybe more garlic than called for). I let that simmer for about 1/2 an hour. I also cooked the meat, onions, and garlic all together then added my tomatoe's, seasoning, and mushrooms. This made for a really tasty sauce, which I think is a big factor in the overall recipe. After I completed the layering process, I topped it off with a little bit of grated - extra sharp - cheddar cheese. The boldness of the cheese, but not overwhelmingly so added a nice finish to the pasta dish. If you don't like cheese - this isn't the dish for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was really good. I did make a few changes. Instead of stewed tomatoes I added a can of diced italian style tomatoes and I left 1/4 of the juice for the flavor, this added to the sauce made it even better. And at the end I removed the foil to let the cheese get golden brown on top. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACIA70

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States