Cheese and Pasta in a Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This was really good! But I changed several things and I liked it allot so I'm going to list what I did for 2 reasons: So you can see what I did and I want to remember this when I go to make this again (I will make it again!) Also for those of you with the thought that if you change a receipe up too much, you might as well post your own...well, I've tried that for yrs and have yet to have one of my submissions posted. So, this is my outlet: I used 12 oz. of lrg elbow mac and 4 oz. of a mix (which included Shells, Penne, and Spirals.) I liked the variation that some of the other shapes provided as they all hold the sauce a little differently. I wouldn't do the whole thing in a mix, but this way you ran up on another shape every other bite or so. I didn't use spag sauce, but used 1 can of stewed tomatoes and 2 cans of petite diced tomates and seasoned it myself with basil, oragano, parsley, white pepper and a few red pepper flakes (maybe more garlic than called for). I let that simmer for about 1/2 an hour. I also cooked the meat, onions, and garlic all together then added my tomatoe's, seasoning, and mushrooms. This made for a really tasty sauce, which I think is a big factor in the overall recipe. After I completed the layering process, I topped it off with a little bit of grated - extra sharp - cheddar cheese. The boldness of the cheese, but not overwhelmingly so added a nice finish to the pasta dish. If you don't like cheese - this isn't the dish for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
This recipe goes into my "comfort foods" list! Makes a huge batch...the leftovers were almost better than the first time around! I am going to try this recipe again soon and add some zucchini chunks to the sauce. The sour cream layer adds a touch of sweetness...great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
my mom makes a similar recipe except she adds chopped pepperoni to the ground beef and uses provolone or mozzarella in place of the jack cheese. those changes add more flavor to the meat and less tang from the cheese--it is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
We thought this was pretty good. I decided to make it easier on myself and just brown the ground beef, onions and mushrooms all together in a Dutch oven (which meant I could skip the oil). I used 1 lb. ground beef and 8 oz. fresh, sliced mushrooms. I also subbed a can of garlic and basil Ro-tel for the tomato sauce. It took a little long to prepare but we thought it was a good, filling dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Potential. I did as other suggested, and cut back on the sour cream and used mozz cheese. It tasted like a boring lasagna. I will make again, but next time I will follow the recipe exactly. I may add more tomato sauce next go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzie
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
My whole family loved this recipe. Everyone had second helpings even my son who had already eaten. It even made enough for a couple lunches the next day. The only changes I made were to cook the onions with the ground beef and to use ridged elbow macaroni. As my eight year old said, "This one's a keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
accidently left out the sour cream, but was still awesome!...kinda like goulash in a pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I really liked this one, but it has some of my favorites in it....mushrooms and sour cream....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was a very time and kid friendly meal to put together. Nice and comforting on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
OMG! A few modification because I didn't have the exact ingedients a viola...5 stars! I didn't have any tomato sauce but I did have Mrs. T's Bloody Mary mix (slightly less than called for). I also only had various cheeses to equal the amount necessary (pinconning, provalone, mild and sharp cheddar shredded and slices of Munster for the top layer. I also used a penne rigate pasta instead of elbow. Holy smoke WOW! I can't wait to have it for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States