Cheese and Garden Vegetable Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I made this for dinner the other night and it was delicious!! I made it exactly as written and it's very rich and tasty! I do weight watchers and 1/8th of a peice of pie is 11 points. Or, if you use light mayo and turkey bacon it's 6.5 points. My husband also loved it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUVBROWNIES
Home Town: Mebane, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Excellent, fast & easy. Versatile recipe that you can adapt to your taste preference with different spices and cheeses...and veggies. We substituted shredded parmesan for the mozzarella & added basil, oregano & garlic. Try broccoli, italian peppers or carmelized onions for a change of veggie flavor. MOST IMPORTANTLY...BAKE LONGER....at least 5 - 10 minutes to lightly brown. That will eliminate some runniness...also, just let it set for 5 - 10 minutes before you cut. It will come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I'm wondering if I did something wrong. I really did not care for this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. One possibility...maybe my tomatoes were too large....perhaps I should have used two tomatoes instead of three (my garden tomatoes are pretty big this year). Sorry....I really wanted to like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I have made many different variations of tomato pie. This is def. my favorite! I peeled my tomatoes as my family likes it better that way. I also used some dried basil as suggested by another review. I made one pie and it is gone - I will make another tomorrow. This has amazing flavor and some nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This is absolutely unbelieveable. Fresh garden tomatoes, of course, make all the difference in the world, but I can't imagine it would be bad no matter what kind of tomatoes you use! Everyone for whom I ever make this goes nuts over it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This pie was great. I made it as a side dish for baked salmon and my family raved about it. My mom asked for the recipe and made it the next day for company. Her company loved it, too. I substituted 1 red and 1 yellow bell pepper for the green (I like the taste of them and thought they were more colorful) and ended up having too much to fill one pie crust, so I made two pies instead. It was great, though, because they were both eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This had a really good flavor, but there was nothing to bind it together, so basically it was a pile of warm diced veggies in a tasty sauce. I plan to try it again sometime, but maybe add some Bisquick or something to help it set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This "pie" came out of the oven a sloppy mess. I give it 3 stars cuz it had good flavor. I'd want to make some changes if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
just okay, instead of this just make a quiche
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Delicious! Other than using extra bacon on top, I followed the recipe. I'll make this again, and next time I'll double it. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States