Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I LOVED this recipe. My roommates were raving about it too, but I did make a few alterations. I added bite size chicken to the melted butter, simmered it with chopped onions, minced garlic, and 1 tsp of cayenne pepper (love the kick) then i added chicken stock, only 6 cups though. I love my soup thicker, so i lessened it dramatically. Stirred in a cup of flour, then the rest of the ingredients and simmered it all together for a good 15 minutes. added 8 oz of velveeta, and 1 cup of milk. the cheese melted within 5 minutes, then it was ready to serve. with the tweaks, it was delicious. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Wow, this was amazing. I made it a little less work by using rotisserie turkey breast. This was very simple and very very good. It also reheated very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Very tasty and hearty soup. I made a substitution with the chicken bullion and added chicken stock instead. It was a great way to use up left over rottiserie chicken. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
My 6 year old & my husband both loved this hearty soup. The only change I made was I used chicken stock. It really was delicious - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I changed this receipe a bit to adapt to our needs but it was delicious. I eliminated the chicken, used 1/2 broccoli and 1/2 cauliflower, used 2 % milk velveeta cheese, used chicken broth instead of the water and chicken cubes, and used milk instead of cream. I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie Ann Yost May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I wish I had used 2-3 cups LESS water because it didn't thicken as much as I would've liked. That's really the only negative thing I can say. I made my own chicken stock and shredded the resulting chicken for the soup. I then sauteed some garlic with the chicken and tossed in everything else. To cut back a little on fat, I only used 1/4 cup butter for the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Delicious. If you cut the chicken small enough it will completely dissolve into the rest or the soup and make a creamy dish you don't have to chew. Great for people who recently had oral surgery or braces...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Excellent. I used a milk and heavy cream combo since I had some on hand I wanted to use up. It had a little much cheese for me but my daughter loved it. I don't know why I followed the directions to add the roux to the broth, it came out clumpy, of course. Next time I will make it separate and slowly add the broth broccoli mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was good. I made per recipe but though it was a little thin. I would use less broth next time and a bit of garlic and onion for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
My family loves this soup. It is our Sunday "Cold Weather" pick me up. Instead of water I use chicken stock and it is always perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jay, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States