Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This recipe had great flavor but I would suggest putting the rue in at the beginning and not at the end because it will clump up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Skip the butter, flour, start with water add 6 chopped potatoes, 1 chopped onion, 2 T minced garlic, and 3 chicken breast. Go ahead and throw them in when their frozen, you can take them out and cube when cooked. Buy 1 lb frozen broccoli florets. (they don't spoil) Cut a whole in the top of the bag of broccoli and fill with hot water let sit in a bowl, drain after they have thawed. Taste and see how close they are to fully cooked. Add after potatoes and chicken are cooked add broccoli and cook until tender (about 3 min.) Turn off heat. Cube a pound of velveeta and stir in. (sometimes I add 3/4 of a 2 pound loaf of cheese) Soup is ready when cheese is melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Great, big pot of soup! Followed a suggestion to leave the roux in the pot, then added the liquid about two cups at a time and stirred it well with each addition. I had no lumps. I cooked my roux with a medium-size yellow onion and two cloves of garlic. After the roux was thinned with the liquid, I added the rest of the ingredients, plus a container of fresh mushrooms. This added to the simmer time, but I wasn't in a hurry. I can't wait to have leftovers tomorrow! Next time I'll use closer to 8 cups of broth/stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I enjoyed this soup. Like many other reviewers, I used chicken broth instead of boullion and water and added it directly to the roux. I used canned chicken because I was feeling lazy :). The soup reheated really well and I think it actually tasted better then. I think next time I might try Velveeta instead of shredded cheese just to make it taste even more cheesy. Overall very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This soup was DELICIOUS! I did make a few changes, as other reviewers recommended: I used 2 bags of frozen broccoli cuts for convenience, and used 8 ounces of Velveeta cheese in addition to about 1 cup of shredded mild cheddar cheese (We're BIG cheese fans). Also, I added 4 sauteed garlic cloves and 1 large sauteed yellow onion for added flavor. This is a LOT of soup for two people, but it's SO GOOD that we're both happy eating it all week! Especially delicious with warm sourdough rolls. This is my idea of a perfect soup recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
The perfect broccoli cheese soup recipe!! It's great with or without chicken. The only change I did was to add extra cheese. It was wonderful and warmed up well several days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
We really loved this soup! I used low fat low sodium chicken broth, fat free half and half, and 2% velveeta. I also added the liquid to the roux and then the chicken and broccoli. I also added onion powder and garlic powder. I think I will add fresh nxt time. Awesome recipe!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Absolutely delicious and not too salty, considering how much cheese is in there. It makes a lot as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
this was SO good! I made it for a work soup day that we had and it was the first soup to dissapear!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
We really liked this recipe. One thing that I did differently was to blend the broccoli up in the blender along with some of the water to reduce the cooking time a little. This made it creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States