Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I added a few more spices (a bit of garlic and onion powders and some parsley) and I added a touch more of the bouillon to the water (which i boiled the chicken in.) As far as the cheese, I used about a 1 inch chunk of velveeta instead. THIS SOUP WAS AMAZING WITH MY CHANGES! My family ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ComfortablyKimmi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I did read a few reviews saying this was bland and I agree. I added a few spices and extra shredded cheese and it wasn't too exciting. I can see this being something kids would enjoy. The one thing I wish I would have done was throw the cooked broccoli and chicken into the food proccessor. I think that would have went better in the soup than bite-sized chunks. Also, I even added some corn starch and it just wasn't thickening. I spent a lot of time stirring the butter, flour, and liquids and nothing was really working.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Really good, but I agree with other reviewers, just make your rue, add broth with wisk, then add broccoli and other ingredients. I also added a pinch of cayane, a dash of dry mustard and garlic powerder. Turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was a good base, but like others I preferred to use chicken stock and to add onion & garlic in the roux. I added the stock directly into the roux (You really only need the one pot!) after the flour had cooked and after stirred until smooth, all the other ingredients saving the cream for last to desired thickness. I added a jar of pimentos, a teas. of fresh shaved nutmeg, and fresh chopped parsley at the end which always gives cream soups a bit more flavor & color. This recipe on it's own would have been way to bland for us. But again, a good base. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This didn't turn out for me. It never did thicken properly despite following the ratios in the recipe exactly :( The taste was fine but the texture wasn't what I was looking for. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Good soup (I did change it a little, that is why I only gave it 4 stars) I like my soup a little thicker so I added some potato flakes. I want to try this with some garlic, etc. I will make this again. We all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Great comfort food! I went with several people's suggestions and added garlic and onions to the butter and once I added the flour and stirred, I added all the water and other ingredients as well rather than separating this part and adding later. It was much more convenient and worked just fine. Also added red pepper flakes for more flavor and a bit of extra cheese. Very good recipe and brought back flavors of home as we are living overseas in a 3rd world country where you can't buy things like this at restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Such a yummy soup! I added something that put it over the top, I just had to share! Like others, I used chicken broth instead of soup and I used a good quality cheddar (not shredded stuff in the bag) but it still needed something. I had a nice stilton (blue) cheese in the fridge and crumbled about 1/3 c and added that in. It was amazing! You would not have known it was blue cheese that you were tasting, but it definitely added another layer of flavor. Highly recommend. . . It was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I'm eating this right now and it's delicious! I cut about 100 calories per serving by using skim milk rather than cream and slices of 2% american cheese rather than shredded cheddar - about 1 slice per serving. I know that doesn't sound like a fair trade, but it really is very cheesy and delicious. I also added white pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, parsley, and a little shake of basil. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Delicious flavors! I sort of messed it up a bit, but it had potential! Double broccoli and add maybe more chopped chicken. 1 c. milk instead of cream, & add 1 TBS worcestershire sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States