Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Very good recipe! Kids loved it, too. Five star-taste; 4 star directions. Really, the directions should probably instruct you to make the roux: gradually add the stock (soup base much better than boullion cubes) whisking constantly to remove lumps; then add other ingredients. Easy and delicious. I suspect that using the roux as written would give you problems with lumps. Love the addition of chicken to broccoli soup! I decreased the cheese a bit and still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe and it was ok, but bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Great recipe with a little tweaking! As per reviews (and common cooking sense), I left my roux in the pot (including some diced onions I sauteed in the butter) and added the broth gradually to let it thicken up. I used leftover rotisserie chicken and frozen broccoli florets which made for a super easy meal. I used an immersion blender to break up the broccoli a little, though if you do this I would recommend putting in the chicken afterward! If we weren't having this in bread bowls I would have added a little rice too, but I didn't want to OD on the starches! :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I added a few more spices (a bit of garlic and onion powders and some parsley) and I added a touch more of the bouillon to the water (which i boiled the chicken in.) As far as the cheese, I used about a 1 inch chunk of velveeta instead. THIS SOUP WAS AMAZING WITH MY CHANGES! My family ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ComfortablyKimmi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I did read a few reviews saying this was bland and I agree. I added a few spices and extra shredded cheese and it wasn't too exciting. I can see this being something kids would enjoy. The one thing I wish I would have done was throw the cooked broccoli and chicken into the food proccessor. I think that would have went better in the soup than bite-sized chunks. Also, I even added some corn starch and it just wasn't thickening. I spent a lot of time stirring the butter, flour, and liquids and nothing was really working.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Really good, but I agree with other reviewers, just make your rue, add broth with wisk, then add broccoli and other ingredients. I also added a pinch of cayane, a dash of dry mustard and garlic powerder. Turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was a good base, but like others I preferred to use chicken stock and to add onion & garlic in the roux. I added the stock directly into the roux (You really only need the one pot!) after the flour had cooked and after stirred until smooth, all the other ingredients saving the cream for last to desired thickness. I added a jar of pimentos, a teas. of fresh shaved nutmeg, and fresh chopped parsley at the end which always gives cream soups a bit more flavor & color. This recipe on it's own would have been way to bland for us. But again, a good base. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This didn't turn out for me. It never did thicken properly despite following the ratios in the recipe exactly :( The taste was fine but the texture wasn't what I was looking for. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Good soup (I did change it a little, that is why I only gave it 4 stars) I like my soup a little thicker so I added some potato flakes. I want to try this with some garlic, etc. I will make this again. We all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Great comfort food! I went with several people's suggestions and added garlic and onions to the butter and once I added the flour and stirred, I added all the water and other ingredients as well rather than separating this part and adding later. It was much more convenient and worked just fine. Also added red pepper flakes for more flavor and a bit of extra cheese. Very good recipe and brought back flavors of home as we are living overseas in a 3rd world country where you can't buy things like this at restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States