Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Very tasty I definitely would make it again. The only problem was that the butter flour mix got cold and very stiff waiting for the rest to cook for 45 min, then did not mix in well. I will do that step last with another pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Delicious. It was a hit- especially with the kids! Based on other reviews, I substituted the 11 cups water with 7 cups chicken broth and 4 cups water. I wanted a broccoli cheese soup without the processed cheese, but with fresh cheese instead, so thanks to you, I have it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
FINALLY delicious broccoli cheese soup recipe made with REAL cheese!!! Love it. Takes like broccoli and cheese sauce like mama makes it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Best soup I've ever made...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I really liked the soup, my kids liked it more than I do. I used turkey instead of chicken and browned that in butter with 3 chopped cloves of garlic. I cooked the broccoli in 4 cups of chicken broth (only needed enough for 4 people). Added the turkey to the stock and then made the roux adding it slowly, as suggested, to the stock. Finally added LOTS of mild cheddar. It was great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saj Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westtown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Landstuhl, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I served it to a family of five, and we all loved it! I made numerous changes. I first roasted some chopped onion and garlic in the butter. Like many others, I used the base made with butter and flour as a starter and added the other ingredients. Much easier. I used 10 cups total of half chicken stock, half chicken broth. I personally would not use water, especially tap water. I slowly stirred in the chicken stock using a whisk, keeping it from getting lumpy. I brought that to a slow boil, and added two whole boneless chicken breasts, fresh broccoli (2-3 heads worth), sea salt, black (and a little white) pepper, garlic powder and a sprinkling of Mrs. Dash. I never measure spices. I go by "feel" and taste. I had all of that on a slow boil for approx 50 min. I removed the chicken, and shredded it with two forks and returned it to the pot. I then placed the flame on simmer. Meanwhile, I had cut up a small box of Velveeta into cubes. I slowly stirred this in until melted. I then added the rest of the cheese via fresh shredded mild cheddar. Finally, I used Half and Half instead of light cream and added that in. I let all that simmer for another 15 min or so and then took out a hand masher and mashed the broccoli up so there were very few large pieces. I was going a little more for a cream of broccoli, and I didn't use a ton of chicken either. Probably the best and most well received soup I have ever made, and I have made a lot. Really, really creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Really easy but did follow others advice of making the flour/chicken broth paste before adding other ingredients. Very simple and delicious especially after a long day. You could really add lots of different veggies. I didn't think it lacked flavor at all. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is an awesome recipe exactly the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Very good recipe! Kids loved it, too. Five star-taste; 4 star directions. Really, the directions should probably instruct you to make the roux: gradually add the stock (soup base much better than boullion cubes) whisking constantly to remove lumps; then add other ingredients. Easy and delicious. I suspect that using the roux as written would give you problems with lumps. Love the addition of chicken to broccoli soup! I decreased the cheese a bit and still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe and it was ok, but bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States