Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Tried this for the first time last night and loved it. I varied a bit by adding maybe a half an onion and 3 stalks of celery that I minced in the food processor. I also used rotisserie chicken and diced that real small too. I don't like chunky soup so I also chopped the broccoli super fine. I used whole milk instead of cream and 4c cheddar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
On a cold, rainy winter day, this recipe hit the spot. It was easy to make and it tasted great. The only thing I did which differed slightly from the recipe is that when I made the roux, I let it brown for a while, so the flour/butter mixture was chocolate brown. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very good! I used ham instead of chicken, so I needed less seasoning. I also cut the recipe in 1/2 and it was just enough for a hearty bowl for 4 of us. Served with some garlic and cheese bisuits and voila! a nice comfort food to have a on this snowy winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ida, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
good, even hand leftover frozen them then a couple days later took it out of freezer and ate it again. Was great and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Have made this a few times..it is delish Used chicken broth (about 8 cups what was on hand) and the rest water and a couple of bouillon cubes.Sauted 2 large chicken breast in butter and garlic..Even used the broccoli already cut up in bag ..Used half and half thats all i had..Very good recipe... better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I followed Linda McCleans directions. I also used 1/4 cup butter instead of 1/2 cup and 2 chicken breasts instead of two pounds chicken breast. I added 8 cups water instead of 11 cups and used chicken base. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Very nice!! I did saute the chicken with a clove of garlic and some seasonings for 5-10 minutes before putting it in the water. I think this adds the needed extra flavor. Also the comments around the supper table was that next time we should add chopped celery - this can only enhance this already good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
We really love this soup! I've made it several times this winter. I always mince 1 or 2 cloves of garlic and add them to the butter before making the roux, then I add chicken broth to the roux slowly. I always make this with skim milk and a few tablespoons of either plain yogurt or sour cream. Yum, perfect every time. Thanks so much for this great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This was really good but needed some tweaking. I Sauted the chicken with 2tsp of garlic. The boullion was not enough, I had double it. I'll use stock next time. I used a 16oz package of frozen broccoli chopped it in the food processor. (My wife hates the chunks) Doing so required only 20minutes simmering rather than the 45. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. I did use real chicken broth instead of cubes and once everything had cooked I took a potatoe masher to break up the broccoli. I also used canned milk so I could freeze it without the seperation and to cut down on some fat. simple and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States