Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Excellent. I used a milk and heavy cream combo since I had some on hand I wanted to use up. It had a little much cheese for me but my daughter loved it. I don't know why I followed the directions to add the roux to the broth, it came out clumpy, of course. Next time I will make it separate and slowly add the broth broccoli mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was good. I made per recipe but though it was a little thin. I would use less broth next time and a bit of garlic and onion for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
My family loves this soup. It is our Sunday "Cold Weather" pick me up. Instead of water I use chicken stock and it is always perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jay, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I think this soup would be better with beer added into it, and without the chicken. Otherwise, this was a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Satisfying, thick soup. Like many other reviewers, I added broth to roux then continued with the recipes. I used a little less butter than called for and subbed 1% milk for cream. Frozen leftovers reheated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Maybe I messed it up, but this soup did not turn out well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I tried this recipe last night and it was very, very good. I read some of the reviews and followed a little bit of all of them. I made the rue and then slowly poured into the pot 6 cups of chicken stock from a box and 5 cups of water. I also added 8 ounces of Velveeta and an extra cup of shredded mild cheddar. The next time I make it I will add a pinch of garlic. I was told this was better than Panera Bread's Broccoli and cheese and better than Carrabba's. My girlfriend told me this recipe surely goes into my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I thought this soup would come out creamier. Maybe a did a mistake but I followed the instructions step by step. THe part where you need to mix the melted butter ad flour didnt come out the way it should have. It came out in chunks. Next time I would not use the flour and butter. My parents loved the taste of the soup. My sister who is a picky eater liked it too except for the flour ad butter. And as per me I foud it ok. Would prefer to try different soup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DR. RODRIGUEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Tried this for the first time last night and loved it. I varied a bit by adding maybe a half an onion and 3 stalks of celery that I minced in the food processor. I also used rotisserie chicken and diced that real small too. I don't like chunky soup so I also chopped the broccoli super fine. I used whole milk instead of cream and 4c cheddar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
On a cold, rainy winter day, this recipe hit the spot. It was easy to make and it tasted great. The only thing I did which differed slightly from the recipe is that when I made the roux, I let it brown for a while, so the flour/butter mixture was chocolate brown. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States