Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
By far my husband's favorite soup that I have ever made! I serve it with homemade cheesy beer bread and he goes crazy. A nice fall soup, even though I am reviewing it in the summer. Next time, I might try adding cauliflower and a few more spices, such as celery salt instead of regular. I did substitute white pepper for black when making this soup initially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
So good! I used real chicken stock that I made. I have made this a few times, great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
The whole family LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Use chicken broth instead of water and bouillon. Save 4 cups of the broth to make cheese sauce... melt the butter, mix in the flour, whisk in the 4 cups of broth and then whisk in the cheese till melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Made this soup a few days ago and it turned out amazingly good! I did however add the broth to the flour mixture like Linda reviewed and it really helped keep it from forming lumps. I also used salted butter, might be a newb mistake on my part but it left it a tiny bit too salty for my taste and I will use unsalted next time. I stuck to the ingredients and directions this time, but will add muchrooms and some onion next time I make this. This is a delicious soup that was real easy to make and everyone slurped it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oceanwinds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Sauteed sweet onion and several cloves of garlic before adding broth. I used Progresso chicken broth instead of boullion. I also added broccoli stalks that were pulverized in the food processor along with the florets. Used 1/2 mild and 1/2 sharp cheddar. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was a great family dinner. It was filling and everyone loved it. I used a roasted chicken and added another 2 chicken breasts. I also substituted chicken broth for the cubes. I will make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Good recipe. I did make a rue instead on the butter mixture in the beginning. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 is because although it is good, it is not going to be one of my "go-to" recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evangeline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peterstown, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was a good base for me - I wanted to cut the calories so I cut the butter to a Tbls. - no cream - & no cheese. I sauteed' a couple onions and garlic - used garlic salt - carrots - and brown rice. I just wanted to make it healthy and less fattening. I'm sure its great just as the recipe states and my way is another whole recipe - oh well - at least I didn't mess up the rating!! I only made it for a healthy choice for me to take to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was a delicious and easy recipe! I about half an onion in with the butter, then added flour to make the roux. Then I added the other ingredients. At the end, I added 4 cups of sharp cheddar and some Cavendar's seasoning. So tasty and PERFECT on a snowy night :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States