Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I had high hopes and watering tastebuds while making this soup but was really let down... it was REALLY bland and a previous reviewer was right when she said it doesn't make sense to add the flour paste after everything is encorporated... hard to get the lumps out. I ended up having to melt cheese wiz all over the top of the soup so that my family would eat it. Next time I think I will use a sharp/old cheddar instead of regular cheddar and... I dunno it needs SOMETHING to give it a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieRobert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Great. Followed others advise add garlic and to brown chicken lightly. My 1 year old and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linds
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I am only giving this recipe three stars "as is." Based on other reviews and my own taste, I changed this recipe by adding 1/2 onion & 2 cloves of garlic (sautee first) and some thyme & parsley. I also added more salt & pepper than what the recipe called for. It would have been very bland without these changes! I added more cheese (about 3/4 cup) as well. In addition, I made the roux and added whisked my liquid (NOT WATER! CHICKEN BROTH/STOCK!) into it. You don't add the paste to the liquid!! Ew. Anyway, other than that, I used frozen broccoli and cooked the chicken in a pan before adding to simmer in the soup. Okay recipe, not stellar. I'll be looking for a different version to add to my recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Fantastic! I used an immersion blender to blend it all (and got a little too carried away), which might be why it's not 100% perfect (maybe it should be chunkier)...but otherwise, great! I halved the recipe and sauteed the chicken with 1/4 of an onion, 2 tbsp of butter, and one clove of garlic. I also wouldn't add the roux to the soup--do it the other way around to save yourself the hassle of finding (and getting rid of) clumps of flour and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Better than restaurant quality. This recipe makes a lot but it tastes even better the next day, and freezes well. I agree with other reviewers, wait to add salt until after you've added the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEAMERICAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
My husband and kids love this soup. I make it anytime I have leftover chicken. It even freezes well! I use milk so its a bit thiner so I make a thicker roue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Delicious! Try it with cubed ham instead of chicken - it's to die for! I also recommend using low-sodium chicken broth instead of bouillon, especially if you are using ham as this will add more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
FOLLOW these changes for a perfect SOUP! First, sautee 1/2 cup onions and 2 cloves of garlic in soup pot. Then I used equal parts vegetable & chicken stock (8-10 cups total), all the called for ingredients above, 1/2 cup diced celery, a few pinches of: red pepper, nutmeg, bacon bits & hot sauce. During 45 minutes of simmering, I added the roux. I finished by using only 8 oz. of velveeta and a few shakes of parmesan. It was plenty cheesy without all the fat. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Very good! Big hit with the whole family. I cut the recipe in half, but still used 3 boullion cubes. I also sauteed onion and garlic in the butter before adding the flour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
It was really good! The next day was even better! The only thing I did differently with the recipe is add onion. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States